Mutual Fund Performance Review: SBI Blue Chip Fund

Published: June 25, 2016 at 8:04 am

The performance of SBI Blue Chip mutual fund is analysed with the open source excel tools available at freefincal. Mutual fund performance analysis published at freefincal¬†should not be construed as investment advice. It is purely meant as an advertisement for the Excel sheets here ūüėČ

SBI Blue Chip fund is a large cap fund that can dabble with mid-caps stocks and cash to some extent (10-20%).

Having an AUM of 6000+ Crores it is the 5th largest actively managed large-cap with a chequered history. Its since-inception NAV history does not make for pleasant viewing.

SBI-Blue-Chip-Fund-3
Source: Value Research Online.

This can be broken down into two segments (not always possible).

Before Sohini Andani became the fund manager in Sep 2010


SBI-Blue-Chip-Fund-2
Source: Value Research Online.

After Sohini Andani took over

SBI-Blue-Chip-Fund-1
Source: Value Research Online.

The performance has picked up only after the market moving up in anticipation of a single party gaining an absolute majority in the Lok Sabha elections. Yet another reason to be wary of (5) star ratings.

The fund which was pushed to the back pages of the AMC factsheet has suddenly become one of its flagship funds. It has the highest AUM among SBI active equity funds.

SBI Blue Chip can pick stocks from the BSE 100 universe. While 70% of the portfolio at any would in equity, this can be in arbitrage too with a provision to include up to 10% of international securities. Up to 30% can be in cash bonds.

Before we head over to the result, these are links theta cover the basics of rolling returns and and upside/downside captures

Lump Sum rolling returns SBI Blue Chip vs BSE 100 Total Returns Index

Using the Mutual Fund SIP and Lump Sum Rolling Returns Calculators we find

SBI-Blue-Chip-Fund-4

The 3-year rolling returns are quite impressive. The date represents the start of the investment duration.

SIP rolling returns SBI Blue Chip vs BSE 100 Total Returns Index 

SBI-Blue-Chip-Fund-5

After Sep 2010, the 3-Y rolling SIP performance has picked up.

Risk-return analysis of SBI Blue Chip vs BSE 100 Total Returns Index

SBI-Blue-Chip-Fund-6

Notice although the fund has decent downside protection, it is only recently that the upside capture (outperformance when the index does well) has increased. This is the main reason for the recent good performance.  I think this probably points to better stock selection.

AUM Growth

Personally, I do not like funds which have suddenly become popular (regardless of reason: performance/commissions etc.).

AUM as on

  • Aug 30th 2012 Rs.¬†686.36 Crores
  • July 31st 2014 Rs.930.58 Crores
  • June 30th 2015 Rs 1,938.83 Crores
  • May 30th 2016 Rs 5,971.80 Crores

That is a huge increase! Bet Jun-15 to May-16 the BSE 100 fell by ~ 2% and the Sensex ~ 3%. So it not because of a ‘buy-high’ mentality.

Conclusion: While  there is nothing wrong with  the fund, but personally it is not a compelling buy for me. If I am looking for a blue chip fund, I would prefer (and hold) an old horse like Franklin Blue Chip. That there is no sensation surrounding it is added incentive.

Note: The before/after fund manager is possible sometimes. I see it more about the AMC waking up ¬†(in this case) rather the ‘importance’ of the fund manager. ¬†If Sohini Andani quits, there is no reason to exit the fund in panic.

What do you think?

Do share if you found this useful

We now publish both equity fund and debt fund (+ hybrid fund) screeners each month!
Use our Robo-advisory Excel Template for a start-to-finish financial plan! Now with a new demo video!¬†‚áź More than 415 investors and advisors use this!
Unlock the secrets of successful financial advisors and entrepreneurs with our new course!
My new book for kids: ‚ÄúChinchu gets a superpower!‚ÄĚ is now available!
Both boy and girl version covers of Chinchu gets a superpower
Both boy and girl version covers of Chinchu gets a superpower.
Most investor problems can be traced to a lack of informed decision making. We have all made bad decisions and money mistakes when we started earning and spent years undoing these mistakes. Why should our children go through the same pain? What is this book about? As parents, if we had to groom one ability in our children that is key not only to money management and investing but for any aspect of life, what would it be? My answer: Sound Decision Making. So in this book, we meet Chinchu, who is about to turn 10. What he wants for his birthday and how his parent’s plan for it and teach him several key ideas of decision making and money management is the narrative. What readers say!
Feedback from a young reader after reading Chinchu gets a Superpower (small version)
Feedback from a young reader after reading Chinchu gets a Superpower!
Must-read book even for adults! This is something that every parent should teach their kids right from their young age. The importance of money management and decision making based on their wants and needs. Very nicely written in simple terms. - Arun.
Buy the book: Chinchu gets a superpower for your child!
How to profit from content writing: Our new ebook for those interested in getting side income via content writing. It is available at a 50% discount for Rs. 500 only!
Did you know? We have more than 1000+ videos on YouTube to explore! Join our YouTube Community!

Join our courses in exclusive Facebook Groups!

  • 550+ members are now part of our new course: How to get people to pay for your skills! (watch 1st lecture for free). Learn how to get people to pay for your skills! Whether you are a professional or small business owner who wants more clients via online visibility or a salaried person wanting a side income or passive income, we will show how to achieve by showcasing your skills and building a community that trusts you and pays you!
  • Goal-based portfolio management! Join 2220+ members and get clarity on how to plan for your goals and achieve the necessary corpus no matter what the market condition is!! Watch the first lecture for free!¬† One-time payment of Rs. 3000 only. No recurring fees! Life-long access to videos (10+ hours content)¬† in an exclusive Facebook Group! Reduce fear, uncertainty and doubt while investing! Learn how to plan for your goals before and after retirement with confidence.

Want to check if the market is overvalued or undervalued? Use our market valuation tool (will work with any index!), or you buy the new Tactical Buy/Sell timing tool!
We publish mutual fund screeners and momentum, low volatility stock screeners .every month.
About the Author Pattabiraman editor freefincalM. Pattabiraman(PhD) is the founder, managing editor and primary author of freefincal. He is an associate professor at the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras. since Aug 2006. Connect with him via Twitter or Linkedin Pattabiraman has co-authored two print-books, You can be rich too with goal-based investing (CNBC TV18) and Gamechanger and seven other free e-books on various money management topics. He is a patron and co-founder of ‚ÄúFee-only India,‚ÄĚ an organisation to promote unbiased, commission-free investment advice. He conducts free money management sessions for corporates and associations based on money management. Previous engagements include World Bank, RBI, BHEL, Asian Paints, Cognizant, Madras Atomic Power Station, Honeywell, Tamil Nadu Investors Association, IIST Alumni Association. For speaking engagements, write to pattu [at] freefincal [dot] com
About freefincal & its content policy Freefincal is a News Media Organization dedicated to providing original analysis, reports, reviews and insights on developments in mutual funds, stocks, investing, retirement and personal finance. We do so without conflict of interest and bias. Follow us on Google News. Freefincal serves more than one million readers a year (2.5 million page views) with articles based only on factual information and detailed analysis by its authors. All statements made will be verified from credible and knowledgeable sources before publication. Freefincal does not publish any paid articles, promotions, PR, satire or opinions without data. All opinions presented will only be inferences backed by verifiable, reproducible evidence/data. Contact information: letters {at} freefincal {dot} com (sponsored posts or paid collaborations will not be entertained)
Connect with us on social media
Our publications

You Can Be Rich Too with Goal-Based Investing

You can be rich too with goal based investingPublished by CNBC TV18, this book is meant to help you ask the right questions, seek the correct answers, and since it comes with nine online calculators, you can also create custom solutions for your lifestyle! Get it now. It is also available in Kindle format.
Gamechanger: Forget Startups, Join Corporate & Still Live the Rich Life You Want Gamechanger: Forget Start-ups, Join Corporate and Still Live the Rich Life you wantThis book is meant for young earners to get their basics right from day one! It will also help you travel to exotic places at a low cost! Get it or gift it to a young earner.

Your Ultimate Guide to Travel

Travel-Training-Kit-Cover-new This is an in-depth dive analysis into vacation planning, finding cheap flights, budget accommodation, what to do when travelling, how travelling slowly is better financially and psychologically with links to the web pages and hand-holding at every step. Get the pdf for Rs 199 (instant download)
Free android apps