Franklin India Feeder – Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund Review

Published: August 25, 2020 at 12:59 pm

Last Updated on June 3, 2022 at 11:11 pm

This is a performance review of Franklin India Feeder – Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund. This is an open-ended fund of fund scheme that invests a minimum 95% of its assets in the Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund – I (acc) USD based in Luxemburg!

Before we consider the fund’s performance, we must understand the nature of the underlying fund – Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund. The amount we invest in Rupees is converted into USD and invested in the US stock market via the underlying fund. The NAV of the fund of fund (feeder) is reported in INR.

What is the nature of Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund? It is an actively managed fund investing in US growth stocks across market capitalization and sectors. MorningStar categorises this fund as “US Flex-Cap Equity”. Launched in Aug 2004 the fund has an AUM of $5.78 Billion as on July 31st 2020. Source: fund homepage


Join over 32,000 readers and get free money management solutions delivered to your inbox! Subscribe to get posts via email!
🔥Enjoy massive discounts on our robo-advisory tool & courses! 🔥

Please note that this fund has several variants and the Franklin Feeder fund invests in “Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund – I (acc) USD”. This has a total expense ratio (TER) of 0.85%. In addition, the feeder has a TER of 0.63% for the direct plan and atrocious 1.61% for the regular plan.

Thus the direct plan investor in the feeder fund is currently subject to a total TER of approximately 1.47-1.48%. This is three times as expensive as Motilal Oswal S&P 500 Index Fund (What return can I expect from this?). Readers may recall from our review of ICICI Prudential US Bluechip Equity Fund that it had a TER of 1.68%. The ICICI fund had difficulty in beating the S&P 500 but managed to fall lower.

What is the benchmark of Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund? The fund is benchmarked to the Russell 3000 Growth Index. This is a subset of the Russell 3000 Index. While the S& P 500 represents the large cap segment of the US stock market (a good 80%), the Russel 3000 represents large, mid and small cap segments with 3000 stocks (98% of the market). Source: Presentation by BlackRock

The Russell 3000 Growth Index “measures the performance of the broad
growth segment of the US equity universe” and includes stocks from the base index (Russel 300) with “higher price-to-book ratios and higher forecasted growth
values”. Source: Fund factsheet.

As per the latest factsheet, the growth index has 1513 stocks with a 5-year EPG growth rate of 19.77 as opposed to 12.62 for the base index. A dividend yield of 0.86 (17.74 base index). A PE of 36.18 (24.97 base index). Total returns from the fund factsheet are tabulated below.

PeriodRussell 3000 GrowthRussell 3000
1Y28.2410.93
3Y20.0811.39
5Y16.1810.89
10Y16.9613.59
20155.090.48
20167.3912.74
201729.5921.13
2018-2.12-5.24
201935.8531.02
202017.12.01
This is a comparison of the RUSSEL 3000 Growth Index (RAG in green) with RUSSEL 300 index (RUA in black) and the S&P 500 (blue line, hidden behind the black) total return indices.
Comparison of S and P 500 (SPX in blue) with RUSSEL 300 index (RUA in black) and RUSSEL 3000 Growth Index (RAG in green).
Comparison of S and P 500 (SPX in blue) with RUSSEL 300 index (RUA in black) and RUSSEL 3000 Growth Index (RAG in green). The screenshot is taken from Marketwatch.com

These are NAV-based total returns of two iShare ETFs based on the S&P 500 and Russel 3000.

DurationiShares Core S&P 500 ETFiShares Russell 3000 ETF
1y11.9310.72
3y11.9711.2
5y11.4510.71
10y13.7813.39

A more detailed comparison is not possible since daily total returns data could not be sourced. It probably a fair assumption that there is not much of a difference between the RUSSEL 300 and S&P 500 as both of them are market-cap weighted. The growth index may not beat the based index every year (see table) but has the potential to be more rewarding but with a little more volatility (see factsheet for standard deviation).

The Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund is benchmarked to the growth index. This table of returns obtained from the AMC’s fund page shows that the fund has not been able to beat the benchmark over the last 5 and 10 years. The 2015-16 performance was particularly abysmal bringing to the fore the dangers of active management. These returns are as on 31st July 2020 in USD.

Duration
I (acc) USD (%)
Russell 3000 Growth Index (%)
1 YR30.6828.24
3 YRS20.6820.07
5 YRS14.316.17
10 YRS15.6316.96
15 YRS11.5111.32
Since inception 31/08/200412.3211.58
JUL‑19 / JUL‑2030.6828.24
JUL‑18 / JUL‑1911.249.88
JUL‑17 / JUL‑1820.9322.86
JUL‑16 / JUL‑1719.6118.02
JUL‑15 / JUL‑16-7.183.57

The top ten holdings of the fund contain many of the “usual suspects”. From FI Feeder factsheet.

Top 10 holdings and sector breakup of Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund as on June 30th 2020
Top 10 holdings and sector breakup of Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund as on June 30th 2020

The NAV movement of Franklin India Feeder – Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund along with ICICI Pru US Bluechip Equity Fund(G)-Direct Plan and S and P 500 in INR from Jan 2013 is shown below.

NAV movement of Franklin India Feeder - Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund along with ICICI Pru US Bluechip Equity Fund(G)-Direct Plan and S and P 500 in INR from Jan 2013
NAV movement of Franklin India Feeder – Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund along with ICICI Pru US Bluechip Equity Fund(G)-Direct Plan and S and P 500 in INR from Jan 2013

Notice how both the ICICI and FI Feeder funds are unable to move above the S&P 500 in INR. Do not get too swayed by the recent up movement in the red line. This is also seen in the five year rolling returns below.

Five year rolling returns of Franklin India Feeder - Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund along with ICICI Pru US Bluechip Equity Fund(G)-Direct Plan and S and P 500 in INR from Jan 2013
Five-year rolling returns of Franklin India Feeder – Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund along with ICICI Pru US Bluechip Equity Fund(G)-Direct Plan and S and P 500 in INR from Jan 2013

The FI feeder fund has a noticeably higher volatility than the S&P 500 INR index and the ICICI Bluechip funds as seen from the five-year rolling standard deviation plot below.

Five year rolling standard deviation (volatility) of Franklin India Feeder - Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund along with ICICI Pru US Bluechip Equity Fund(G)-Direct Plan and S and P 500 in INR from Jan 2013
Five-year rolling standard deviation (volatility) of Franklin India Feeder – Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund along with ICICI Pru US Bluechip Equity Fund(G)-Direct Plan and S and P 500 in INR from Jan 2013.

It is quite clear that the active funds struggle to beat the S&P 500. Therefore the S&P 500 index fund from Motilal Oswal appears to a better choice (for those who know how to manage a portfolio with US equity) than both ICICI US Bluechip Equity and Franklin India Feeder – Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund. The only caveat is the tracking error of the index fund. We need some time to assess this.

Do share this article with your friends using the buttons below.

🔥Enjoy massive discounts on our courses, robo-advisory tool and exclusive investor circle! 🔥& join our community of 5000+ users!
Use our Robo-advisory Tool for a start-to-finish financial plan! More than 1,000 investors and advisors use this!
New Tool! => Track your mutual funds and stock investments with this Google Sheet!
Follow Freefincal on Google News
Follow Freefincal on Google News
Subscribe to the freefincal Youtube Channel. Subscribe button courtesy: Vecteezy.
Subscribe to the freefincal Youtube Channel.
Follow freefincal on WhatsApp Channel
Follow freefincal on WhatsApp
Podcast: Let's Get RICH With PATTU! Every single Indian CAN grow their wealth! 
Listen to the Lets Get Rich with Pattu Podcast
Listen to the Let's Get Rich with Pattu Podcast
You can watch podcast episodes on the OfSpin Media Friends YouTube Channel.
Lets Get RICH With PATTU podcast on YouTube
Let's Get RICH With PATTU podcast on YouTube.

  • Do you have a comment about the above article? Reach out to us on Twitter: @freefincal or @pattufreefincal
  • Have a question? Subscribe to our newsletter with the form below.
  • Hit 'reply' to any email from us! We do not offer personalized investment advice. We can write a detailed article without mentioning your name if you have a generic question.

Join over 32,000 readers and get free money management solutions delivered to your inbox! Subscribe to get posts via email!

Explore the site! Search among our 2000+ articles for information and insight!

About The Author

Pattabiraman editor freefincalDr. M. Pattabiraman(PhD) is the founder, managing editor and primary author of freefincal. He is an associate professor at the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras. He has over ten years of experience publishing news analysis, research and financial product development. Connect with him via Twitter, Linkedin, or YouTube. Pattabiraman has co-authored three print books: (1) You can be rich too with goal-based investing (CNBC TV18) for DIY investors. (2) Gamechanger for young earners. (3) Chinchu Gets a Superpower! for kids. He has also written seven other free e-books on various money management topics. He is a patron and co-founder of “Fee-only India,” an organisation promoting unbiased, commission-free investment advice.
Our flagship course! Learn to manage your portfolio like a pro to achieve your goals regardless of market conditions! More than 3,000 investors and advisors are part of our exclusive community! Get clarity on how to plan for your goals and achieve the necessary corpus no matter what the market condition is!! Watch the first lecture for free!  One-time payment! No recurring fees! Life-long access to videos! Reduce fear, uncertainty and doubt while investing! Learn how to plan for your goals before and after retirement with confidence.
Our new course!  Increase your income by getting people to pay for your skills! More than 700 salaried employees, entrepreneurs and financial advisors are part of our exclusive community! Learn how to get people to pay for your skills! Whether you are a professional or small business owner who wants more clients via online visibility or a salaried person wanting a side income or passive income, we will show you how to achieve this by showcasing your skills and building a community that trusts you and pays you! (watch 1st lecture for free). One-time payment! No recurring fees! Life-long access to videos!   
Our new book for kids: “Chinchu gets a superpower!” is now available!
Both boy and girl version covers of Chinchu gets a superpower
Both the boy and girl version covers of Chinchu gets a superpower.
Most investor problems can be traced to a lack of informed decision-making. We have all made bad decisions and money mistakes when we started earning and spent years undoing these mistakes. Why should our children go through the same pain? What is this book about? As parents, what would it be if we had to groom one ability in our children that is key not only to money management and investing but to any aspect of life? My answer: Sound Decision Making. So in this book, we meet Chinchu, who is about to turn 10. What he wants for his birthday and how his parents plan for it and teach him several key ideas of decision-making and money management is the narrative. What readers say!
Feedback from a young reader after reading Chinchu gets a Superpower (small version)
Feedback from a young reader after reading Chinchu gets a Superpower!
Must-read book even for adults! This is something that every parent should teach their kids right from their young age. The importance of money management and decision making based on their wants and needs. Very nicely written in simple terms. - Arun.
Buy the book: Chinchu gets a superpower for your child!
How to profit from content writing: Our new ebook is for those interested in getting side income via content writing. It is available at a 50% discount for Rs. 500 only!
Want to check if the market is overvalued or undervalued? Use our market valuation tool (it will work with any index!), or get the Tactical Buy/Sell timing tool!
We publish monthly mutual fund screeners and momentum, low-volatility stock screeners.
About freefincal & it's content policy. Freefincal is a News Media Organization dedicated to providing original analysis, reports, reviews and insights on mutual funds, stocks, investing, retirement and personal finance developments. We do so without conflict of interest and bias. Follow us on Google News. Freefincal serves more than three million readers a year (5 million page views) with articles based only on factual information and detailed analysis by its authors. All statements made will be verified with credible and knowledgeable sources before publication. Freefincal does not publish paid articles, promotions, PR, satire or opinions without data. All opinions will be inferences backed by verifiable, reproducible evidence/data. Contact information: letters {at} freefincal {dot} com (sponsored posts or paid collaborations will not be entertained)
Connect with us on social media
Our publications

You Can Be Rich Too with Goal-Based Investing

You can be rich too with goal based investingPublished by CNBC TV18, this book is meant to help you ask the right questions and seek the correct answers, and since it comes with nine online calculators, you can also create custom solutions for your lifestyle! Get it now.
Gamechanger: Forget Startups, Join Corporate & Still Live the Rich Life You Want Gamechanger: Forget Start-ups, Join Corporate and Still Live the Rich Life you wantThis book is meant for young earners to get their basics right from day one! It will also help you travel to exotic places at a low cost! Get it or gift it to a young earner.

Your Ultimate Guide to Travel

Travel-Training-Kit-Cover-new This is an in-depth dive analysis into vacation planning, finding cheap flights, budget accommodation, what to do when travelling, and how travelling slowly is better financially and psychologically, with links to the web pages and hand-holding at every step. Get the pdf for Rs 300 (instant download)