SBI Bluechip Fund Review: Can this outperform Nifty 100?

Published: October 13, 2019 at 12:09 pm

Last Updated on December 29, 2021 at 5:07 pm

This is a performance review of SBI Bluechip Fund. Started in Feb 2006, it has grown to become one of the biggest large cap funds with 22746.36 Cr as on 30 Sep 2019, much of it in recent years. Does it make sense to invest in this fund anymore or shift to a Nifty 50 index fund? Let us find out.

From May 2018, the fund’s investment mandate became tighter. Earlier it had no specific restriction on market cap, although it was primarily a large cap fund. It could invest in bonds up to 30%. Now, 80% of its portfolio from the top 100 stocks by market cap.

Before we begin, this is an anonymous simple “Yes/No” poll on financial challenges associated with planning for our children’s future. Kindly participate. Would appreciate an RT. Will share results after 300 responses. You can get some context for the poll in this video: Have children? Planning for one? Planning for another kid? Then you better plan in advance! Also this article: How I Helped a Young Nuclear Family Invest For Their Children’s Future

According to AMFI, 69% of the AUM comes from the regular plan, growth option, 5% from regular plan dividend option, 24% from direct plan growth option and 2% from direct plan dividend option.  For an AMC associated with a bank, the 26% direct contribution is impressive.

The scheme follows a blend of growth and value style of investing with a  combination of a top-down and bottom-up approach to stock-picking strategies. In a top-down strategy, the fund manager will consider the stock only after evaluating the sector and the economy. In a bottom-up approach, the stock will be considered first.


Join over 32,000 readers and get free money management solutions delivered to your inbox! Subscribe to get posts via email!
🔥Enjoy massive discounts on our robo-advisory tool & courses! 🔥

In Dec 2018, I had reported that Only Five Large Cap funds have comfortably beat Nifty 100! SBI Bluechip Fund was one of them.  So the fund has a good track record in spite of the swell in AUM. The questions are, (1) was it because investing outside the index? (2) Will it be possible to maintain this in future? Let us dig deeper.

SBI Bluechip Fund: Basic Scheme Details

TypeOpen-ended scheme
AssetEquity
CategoryMarket Cap Fund
Sub CategoryLarge Cap Fund
Inception Date14-02-2006
Fund ManagerSohini Andani
ObjectiveTo provide investors with opportunities for long-term growth in capital through active management of investments in a diversified basket of large cap equity stocks (as specified by SEBI/AMFI from time to time).
Minimum Investment5000
Incremental Investment1000
Exit LoadFor exit within 1 year from the date of allotment 1%
allotment – 1 %
allotment – 1 %; For exit after 1 year from
the date of allotment – Nil
AUM (30-Sep-2019)22742.5027 (Cr.)
Expense Ratio1.07 Direct 1.89 Regular
BenchmarkS&P BSE 100 – TRI (Benchmark)
Additional BenchmarkS&P BSE SENSEX – TRI (Benchmark)
Investment PatternMinimumMaximum
Debt instruments (including securitized debt)020
Equity and equity-related instruments of large cap comp (including Derivatives)80100
MMI020
Other equities and equity-related instruments020
Units issued by REIT/InVIT010

Expense Ratio and AUM History

Expense ratio and AUM history of SBI Blue Chip FundNotice the bid dip in the direct plan expenses? Between Jan-Mar 2016 and Apr-June-2016 the direct AUM of this fund grew by 83%. Hence the AMC promptly jacked it up. Question is, why the direct plan expense come down gradually in the first place? It looks almost as if the AMC anticipated this influx into direct plans, made the fund invited and increased it later. Remember they did not have to intimate this to investors at that time.

Asset Allocation History

The fund has maintained close to 90% exposure in stocks for much of its history (although it had the mandate to operate as a balanced fund with up to 30% bond exposure before May 2018)

SBI Bluechip Fund Asset Allocation History

Market Cap History

Notice the gradual decrease in small cap exposure and mid cap exposure. This the main reason many believe that going forward large cap funds may not be able to beat the index.

Market Cap History of SBI Bluechip Fund

SBI Blue Chip Fund vs Nifty 100 TRI

Let us check how the fund has fared against Nifty 100 (equivalent to BSE 100) over every possible 3, 5, 7 and 10 year periods. The number of returns considered is indicated in the plots.

SBI BlueChip Fund Rolling returns over 3 years

SBI BlueChip Fund Rolling returns over 5 yearsSBI BlueChip Fund Rolling returns over 7 yearsSBI BlueChip Fund Rolling returns over 10 yearsThe fund did not do too well in the first few years after inception during the sideways market post-2008 recovery. It did well the market picked in late 2013 but performance has again been muted in the last couple of years (this is true of many of its peers).

Can this outperform Nifty 100?

Its volatility has always been lower than that of Nifty 100, but the return performance is not consistent enough. Naturally, we cannot predict if it will outperform Nifty 100 in the future with or without this data. However, a good track record allows us to take that chance.

I am afraid this (or most other active large cap funds) do not have such a record. Even when these funds were not restricted by the SEBI, they had trouble beating Nifty 100 (or Nifty). This is the reason I do not recommend active large cap in my handpicked List of Mutual Funds October 2019 (PlumbLine).

SBI Blue Chip Fund vs Peers

Shown below is the rolling returns comparison of SBI Bluechip with ICICI Bluechip and Nippon India Large Cap (Reliance Large Cap, previously Reliance Top 200).

SBI BlueChip Fund vs peers Rolling returns over 7 yearsSBI BlueChip Fund vs peers Rolling returns over 10 yearsOne cannot really say if X or Y fund is better.

Summary: Should you invest?

No. New investors should give this fund a miss and stick Nifty 50 and Nifty Next 50. For example see: Combine Nifty & Nifty Next 50 funds to create large, mid cap index portfolios. Old investors should also consider a gradual shift to either index fund or aggressive hybrid or multi-asset or balanced advantage funds

Do share this article with your friends using the buttons below.

🔥Enjoy massive discounts on our courses, robo-advisory tool and exclusive investor circle! 🔥& join our community of 5000+ users!
Use our Robo-advisory Tool for a start-to-finish financial plan! More than 1,000 investors and advisors use this!
New Tool! => Track your mutual funds and stock investments with this Google Sheet!
Follow Freefincal on Google News
Follow Freefincal on Google News
Subscribe to the freefincal Youtube Channel. Subscribe button courtesy: Vecteezy.
Subscribe to the freefincal Youtube Channel.
Follow freefincal on WhatsApp Channel
Follow freefincal on WhatsApp
Podcast: Let's Get RICH With PATTU! Every single Indian CAN grow their wealth! 
Listen to the Lets Get Rich with Pattu Podcast
Listen to the Let's Get Rich with Pattu Podcast
You can watch podcast episodes on the OfSpin Media Friends YouTube Channel.
Lets Get RICH With PATTU podcast on YouTube
Let's Get RICH With PATTU podcast on YouTube.

  • Do you have a comment about the above article? Reach out to us on Twitter: @freefincal or @pattufreefincal
  • Have a question? Subscribe to our newsletter with the form below.
  • Hit 'reply' to any email from us! We do not offer personalized investment advice. We can write a detailed article without mentioning your name if you have a generic question.

Join over 32,000 readers and get free money management solutions delivered to your inbox! Subscribe to get posts via email!

Explore the site! Search among our 2000+ articles for information and insight!

About The Author

Pattabiraman editor freefincalDr. M. Pattabiraman(PhD) is the founder, managing editor and primary author of freefincal. He is an associate professor at the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras. He has over ten years of experience publishing news analysis, research and financial product development. Connect with him via Twitter, Linkedin, or YouTube. Pattabiraman has co-authored three print books: (1) You can be rich too with goal-based investing (CNBC TV18) for DIY investors. (2) Gamechanger for young earners. (3) Chinchu Gets a Superpower! for kids. He has also written seven other free e-books on various money management topics. He is a patron and co-founder of “Fee-only India,” an organisation promoting unbiased, commission-free investment advice.
Our flagship course! Learn to manage your portfolio like a pro to achieve your goals regardless of market conditions! More than 3,000 investors and advisors are part of our exclusive community! Get clarity on how to plan for your goals and achieve the necessary corpus no matter what the market condition is!! Watch the first lecture for free!  One-time payment! No recurring fees! Life-long access to videos! Reduce fear, uncertainty and doubt while investing! Learn how to plan for your goals before and after retirement with confidence.
Our new course!  Increase your income by getting people to pay for your skills! More than 700 salaried employees, entrepreneurs and financial advisors are part of our exclusive community! Learn how to get people to pay for your skills! Whether you are a professional or small business owner who wants more clients via online visibility or a salaried person wanting a side income or passive income, we will show you how to achieve this by showcasing your skills and building a community that trusts you and pays you! (watch 1st lecture for free). One-time payment! No recurring fees! Life-long access to videos!   
Our new book for kids: “Chinchu gets a superpower!” is now available!
Both boy and girl version covers of Chinchu gets a superpower
Both the boy and girl version covers of Chinchu gets a superpower.
Most investor problems can be traced to a lack of informed decision-making. We have all made bad decisions and money mistakes when we started earning and spent years undoing these mistakes. Why should our children go through the same pain? What is this book about? As parents, what would it be if we had to groom one ability in our children that is key not only to money management and investing but to any aspect of life? My answer: Sound Decision Making. So in this book, we meet Chinchu, who is about to turn 10. What he wants for his birthday and how his parents plan for it and teach him several key ideas of decision-making and money management is the narrative. What readers say!
Feedback from a young reader after reading Chinchu gets a Superpower (small version)
Feedback from a young reader after reading Chinchu gets a Superpower!
Must-read book even for adults! This is something that every parent should teach their kids right from their young age. The importance of money management and decision making based on their wants and needs. Very nicely written in simple terms. - Arun.
Buy the book: Chinchu gets a superpower for your child!
How to profit from content writing: Our new ebook is for those interested in getting side income via content writing. It is available at a 50% discount for Rs. 500 only!
Want to check if the market is overvalued or undervalued? Use our market valuation tool (it will work with any index!), or get the Tactical Buy/Sell timing tool!
We publish monthly mutual fund screeners and momentum, low-volatility stock screeners.
About freefincal & it's content policy. Freefincal is a News Media Organization dedicated to providing original analysis, reports, reviews and insights on mutual funds, stocks, investing, retirement and personal finance developments. We do so without conflict of interest and bias. Follow us on Google News. Freefincal serves more than three million readers a year (5 million page views) with articles based only on factual information and detailed analysis by its authors. All statements made will be verified with credible and knowledgeable sources before publication. Freefincal does not publish paid articles, promotions, PR, satire or opinions without data. All opinions will be inferences backed by verifiable, reproducible evidence/data. Contact information: letters {at} freefincal {dot} com (sponsored posts or paid collaborations will not be entertained)
Connect with us on social media
Our publications

You Can Be Rich Too with Goal-Based Investing

You can be rich too with goal based investingPublished by CNBC TV18, this book is meant to help you ask the right questions and seek the correct answers, and since it comes with nine online calculators, you can also create custom solutions for your lifestyle! Get it now.
Gamechanger: Forget Startups, Join Corporate & Still Live the Rich Life You Want Gamechanger: Forget Start-ups, Join Corporate and Still Live the Rich Life you wantThis book is meant for young earners to get their basics right from day one! It will also help you travel to exotic places at a low cost! Get it or gift it to a young earner.

Your Ultimate Guide to Travel

Travel-Training-Kit-Cover-new This is an in-depth dive analysis into vacation planning, finding cheap flights, budget accommodation, what to do when travelling, and how travelling slowly is better financially and psychologically, with links to the web pages and hand-holding at every step. Get the pdf for Rs 300 (instant download)