Franklin India Savings Fund Review: Who should invest

Franklin India Savings Fund Review: Who should invest

Published: October 12, 2019 at 8:37 am

Last Updated on

This is a review of Franklin India Savings Fund, an open-ended money market mutual fund that invests in bonds of up to one year and aims to lower interest rate fluctuations with low to moderate credit rating risk.

This fund can be considered by investors wanting a little more (potential) return than liquid funds without taking on too much credit rating risk (low-quality bonds) or interest rate risk (longer duration bonds, that fluctuate in value). The fund has been part of my handpicked List of Mutual Funds October 2019 (PlumbLine)

I had previously reviewed the fund in 2017 when it was a floating rate fund. Launched in Feb 2002 as Franklin Savings Plus Fund, it became a money market fund from June 2018. According to Franklin, the fund currently has more than 8290 unique investors.

Since the fund has a significantly lower credit rating risk profile than the crowd favourite reviewed last week, Franklin India Ultra Short Bond Fund (Review: When and how to invest), I believe the fund is suitable for first-time debt mutual fund investors with an investment duration of at least one year.

Before we begin, this is an anonymous simple “Yes/No” poll on financial challenges associated with planning for our children’s future. Kindly participate. Would appreciate an RT. Will share results after 300 responses. You can get some context for the poll in this video: Have children? Planning for one? Planning for another kid? Then you better plan in advance! Also this article: How I Helped a Young Nuclear Family Invest For Their Children’s Future

 

What is a money market instrument? The money market refers to the lower duration segment of the bond market.  According to SEBI MF rules (page 8),

money market instruments include commercial papers, commercial bills, treasury bills, Government securities having an unexpired maturity up to one year, call or notice money, certificate of deposit, usance bills, and any other like
instruments as specified by the Reserve Bank of India from time to time;

The value of bonds in this segment do not fluctuate much when interest rates change.

Franklin India Savings Fund: Basic Scheme Details

TypeOpen-ended scheme
AssetDebt
CategoryMoney Market (MM)
Inception Date 11-Feb-2002, Change from floating rate fund to MM fund from 4th June 2018
ObjectiveTo provide income and liquidity consistent with the prudent risk from a portfolio comprising of money market instruments.
Minimum Investment10000
Incremental Investment1000 SIP Rs. 500
Exit Load0
Expense Ratio0.28% Reg 0.15% Direct
BenchmarkCrisil Liquid Fund Index (Benchmark)
Additional BenchmarkCrisil 1 Yr T-Bill Index (Benchmark)
Average Assets under Management (AAUM) for the quarter  of July – September 2019 (Rs in Lakhs)Source: AMFI
Daily Dividend option8663.4
Daily Dividend option – Direct1226.73
Direct-Growth120877.27
Direct – Monthly Dividend406.2
Direct – Quarterly Dividend133.66
Dividend Option3733.11
Growth Option99309.66
Institutional Option – Dividend (closed)1054.71
Monthly Dividend830.69

The direct AUM has a 52% share in the total AUM. Pallab Roy has been the fund manager since June 2008 and Umesh Sharma since Oct 2018. Just like most funds in this category, the fund heavily buys banking and finance bonds.

Sector Allocation history of Franklin India Savings Fund

Top 10 Sector – Holding (%)Franklin India Savings Fund(G)Money Market category
Bank50.0949.42
Finance49.0236.92
Retailing1.160.28

Investors should clearly understand that because of the ongoing credit problems in the non-banking financial space, this or any other money market fund can run into trouble. In fact, this fund did hold DHFL bond but exited before it ran into trouble. As far as I could tell, as on date, there are no credit rating downgrades associated with the bonds of this fund let alone credit defaults.

Hate ads but would like to support the site? Subscribe to our ad-free newsletter and get beautifully formatted full articles delivered to your inbox!

Type of bonds  held

After the fund changed to a money market funds, it no longer holds corporate debt.  The majority of holdings are in bank certificates of deposit and commercial paper.

Rating  Profile  History

The fund now only holds the highest rated short-term bonds (A1+ or two notches down) and some cash after the SEBI categorization rejig.Rating Allocation History of Franklin India Savings FundMaturity Profile History

After the change to a money market fund, most of the bonds now mature within a year.

Maturity Profile History of Franklin India Savings FundThe fund house claims “The recommended investment horizon is 1 month and above”. This is complete nonsense. If I want money in two months, the fund will be strongly prone to yield changes (demand and supply in the market) as you can see below.

Monthly Rolling Returns of Franklin India Savings Fund

If you want money in a few months, use a liquid fund. Do not use this fund! These fluctuations will significantly stabilize with an increase in duration. So do not use unless your need is one year or more.

Expense Ratio History

With the fund having a strong direct AUM (most likely from HNI and corporate investors), the AMC will not decrease expenses significantly. The gap between regular and direct plans have come down over time. Hard to tell if this a good or bad development! Sorry about the jumbled x-axis. This is for the last 20 months up to Sep 2019.

Who should invest in Franklin India Savings Fund and how?

First-time debt mutual fund investors with a need more than a year away, capable of taking on moderate credit risk -higher than liquid funds, but lower than an ultra short term fund with low-quality bonds can consider this fund. SIP option can be used like an RD.

A lump sum that is either intended to be deployed in the stock market or just parked until a use or use date is determined can also be invested. Those in the 30% slab can consider the dividend reinvestment option for a marginal benefit for less than three year periods.

The fund can also be used to derive monthly income via SWP. However, all investors must recognise the associated credit and interest rate risks. In the absence of big market changes, you can expect a pre-tax return a bit above liquid funds and comparable to (or at times better than) a bank FD. For the short term, this may not seem much but will make a difference beyond three years due to indexation benefits associated with long term capital gains tax @20% (plus surcharge and cess)

Do share if you found this useful
Hate ads but would like to support the site? Subscribe to our ad-free newsletter and get beautifully formatted full articles delivered to your inbox!

About the Author M Pattabiraman author of freefincal.comM. Pattabiraman(PhD) is the author and owner of freefincal.com.  He is an associate professor at the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras since Aug 2006. Pattu” as he is popularly known, has co-authored two print-books, You can be rich too with goal based investing (CNBC TV18) and Gamechanger and seven other free e-books on various topics of money management.  He is a patron and co-founder of “Fee-only India” an organisation to promote unbiased, commission-free investment advice. Pattu publishes unbiased, promotion-free research, analysis and holistic money management advice. Freefincal serves more than one million readers a year (2.5 million page views) with numbers based analysis on topical issues and has more than a 100 free calculators on different aspects of insurance and investment analysis. He conducts free money management sessions for corporates  and associations(see details below). Previous engagements include World Bank, RBI, BHEL, Asian Paints, TamilNadu Investors Association etc. Contact information: freefincal {at} Gmail {dot} com (sponsored posts or paid collaborations will not be entertained)
Want to conduct a sales-free "basics of money management" session in your office?
I conduct free seminars to employees or societies. Only the very basics and getting-started steps are discussed (no scary math):For example: How to define financial goals, how to save tax with a clear goal in mind; How to use a credit card for maximum benefit; When to buy a house; How to start investing; where to invest; how to invest for and after retirement etc. depending on the audience. If you are interested, you can contact me: freefincal [at] Gmail [dot] com. I can do the talk via conferencing software, so there is no cost for your company. If you want me to travel, you need to cover my airfare (I live in Chennai)

Connect with us on social media


Content Policy

Freefincal has original unbiased, conflict-of-interest-free,  topical reports, reviews, commentary and analysis on all aspects of personal finance like mutual funds, stocks, insurance etc. All guest authors and contributors to the site also do not have any conflict of interest. If you find the content useful, please consider supporting us by (1) sharing our articles and (2) disabling ad-blockers for our site if you are using one. No promotional content We do not accept sponsored posts and link exchange requests from content writers and agencies. This is our privacy policy Our website is non-profit in nature. The revenue from the advertisement will only be used for hosting charges, domain registration charges, specific plugins necessary for traffic growth and analytics services for search engine optimisation.

Do check out my books


You Can Be Rich Too with Goal-Based Investing

You can be rich too with goal based investingMy first book is meant to help you ask the right questions, seek the right answers and since it comes with nine online calculators, you can also create custom solutions for your lifestyle! Get it now.  It is also available in Kindle format.
Gamechanger: Forget Startups, Join Corporate & Still Live the Rich Life You WantGamechanger: Forget Start-ups, Join Corporate and Still Live the Rich Life you wantMy second book is meant for young earners to get their basics right from day one! It will also help you travel to exotic places at low cost! Get it or gift it to a young earner

The ultimate guide to travel by Pranav Surya

Travel-Training-Kit-Cover This is a deep dive analysis into vacation planning, finding cheap flights, budget accommodation, what to do when travelling, how travelling slowly is better financially and psychologically with links to the web pages and hand-holding at every step.  Get the pdf for ₹199 (instant download)

Free Apps for your Android Phone

All calculators from our book, “You can be Rich Too” are now available on Google Play!
Install Financial Freedom App! (Google Play Store)
Install Freefincal Retirement Planner App! (Google Play Store)
Find out if you have enough to say "FU" to your employer (Google Play Store)

Blog Comment Policy

Your thoughts are vital to the health of this blog and are the driving force behind the analysis and calculators that you see here. We welcome criticism and differing opinions. I will do my very best to respond to all comments asap. Please do not include hyperlinks or email ids in the comment body. Such comments will be moderated and I reserve the right to delete the entire comment or remove the links before approving them.

1 Comment

  1. Good article in the debt space of the Indian market. I have invested in one of the liquid funds quite heavily, would like to see a review of that fund as well. The fund is Axis Liquid fund. Would greatly appreciate if you could cover it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *