Axis Long Term Equity Fund Review: Has performance slipped?

Published: September 1, 2019 at 10:20 am

Last Updated on December 29, 2021 at 4:59 pm

Axis Long Term Equity Fund was the darling of first-time mutual fund tax savers a couple of years ago. Has its performance slipped? Is this because of its large AUM? Can existing investors continue? Can new investors consider this for tax saving under section 80C? Let us find out by checking how consistent the fund has performed.

Axis Long Term Equity Fund is an open-ended equity-linked Savings Scheme (ELSS) where each unit you purchase cannot be sold on or before the completion of three years. This is a mandatory requirement for reporting such investments under section 80C.  ELSS mutual funds are governed by the finance ministry and not SEBI! See: Five Interesting Facts about ELSS Mutual Funds

Launched in Dec 2009 as Axis Equity Tax Saver Fund, the fund was renamed as Axis Long Term Equity Fund in mid-2011 (a bold change as it is not immediately apparent that it is an ELSS fund). The fund has remained a large cap fund that can invest in select mid cap stock with a mix of growth and value investing strategy. Axis MF has aggressively marketed the fund especially via its banking channel making it the ELSS fund with the most AUM.

The fund could manage only 4.9 Cr a month after inception (Jan 2010). A year later, 66.8 Cr. In Jan 2012, 145.7 Cr, Jan 2013 – 446.5 Cr (start of the big push). Jan 2014 849.9 Cr (notice these big leaps!). Jan 2015 3,869.92 Crore (What?!). Jan 2016 6,885.54 Crore, Jan 2017 11143.89 Crore, Jan 2018 16516.68 Crore, Jan 2019 17089.75, Jul 2019 18952.6 Crores. Source: AMC Factsheets


Join over 32,000 readers and get free money management solutions delivered to your inbox! Subscribe to get posts via email!
🔥Enjoy massive discounts on our robo-advisory tool & courses! 🔥

Fund manager Jinesh Gopani has been managing the fund since April 2011. Although the pace of AUM growth has significantly slowed down, 7548% increase in AUM over just five years is simply too much AUM too soon. I have mentioned many times before that it is not AUM that is a problem for fund management, but sudden spike in AUM. Let us find out if this has hurt existing Axis Long Term Equity Fund investors.

Before we begin, according to Axis Mutual Fund,

A 3-year lock-in ensures that the money stays invested in equities and does not get perturbed by market ups and downs. Add to it, the fund manager can take much-informed decision and look through the interim volatility.

This is complete nonsense, with no evidence to back it up and simply not possible in an opened-ended ELSS fund three years after inception. See: The Myth About ELSS Fund Lock-in

Axis Long Term Equity Fund vs benchmarks and peers

The fund is benchmarked against BSE 200, but I prefer to check against Nifty LargeMidcap 250 which is 50% Nifty 100 and 50% Nifty Midcap 150. I have also included ABSL Tax Relief and DSP Tax Saver Funds. Both these funds are currently part of My Handpicked Mutual Funds July 2019 (PlumbLine)

Let us look at the rolling returns over five years. The fund is still quite young, so longer durations do not make much sense. First notice the green, red and yellow lines. These are Nifty 200, Nifty 100, BSE 200 indices. Notice their returns are not different.

Axis Long Term Equity Fund vs benchmarks and peers five year rolling returnsNext look at the pink line. This is the NIfty LargeMidcap 50 which is a lot tougher to beat. Notice the huge gap between the white line (Axis Long Term Equity) and the pink line from Dec 2015 to Aug 2016. These correspond to returns of investment made bet Dec 2000 and Aug 2011.

Amusingly the fund hit the 10,000 Crore AUM milestone around Aug 2016. Did the rate at which the AUM grew during the above period make it difficult for the fund manager to maintain outperformance? I am inclined to think so. In any case, investors who entered on the back of this performance would be disappointed.

The while line is above the pink line for all the 1154 five-year durations studied but the outperformance has dropped because the fund managers freedom was restricted due to a bulging AUM.

Now, look at the blue and brown lines. The quantum of outperformance (wrt the pink line) of both ABSL Tax Relief and DSP Tax Saver has been steady over the period considered. I would rather buy a fund (if I cannot exhaust 80C via EPF, VPF, PPF or NPS and needed tax-saving benefits from a mutual fund) that display steady outperformance.

A “low AUM” also helps during down-market periods. The fund would still be nimble enough to lower losses for investors.  In all fairness, Axis Long Term Equity Fund is still a “good fund”. Using the Aug 2019 Equity Mutual Fund Performance Screener, we find that the Axis fund beat Nifty largemidcap 250 index 570/885 periods, while the ABSL fund managed 647/885 and the DSP fund 697/885. Still decent by any standard.

It appears to be a case of too much expectation from the Axis fund investors and too much pressure on the fund management. At least until the next “bull market” the AUM growth would not be significant allowing some breathing space for the fund manager and existing investors. They can continue investing as long as the fund is able to beat BSE 200 (and as long as they need 80C benefits).

Just hope that your income would increase a lot* before the next bull run and you would have no more need for this or any other ELS fund. * If salaried, your EPF or NPS would then take care of 80C.

For new investors, I would recommend less popular steady performers like ABSL Tax Relief and DSP Taxsaver or an ELSS fund from an AMC that has no ties to a mainstream bank!

Do share this article with your friends using the buttons below.

🔥Enjoy massive discounts on our courses, robo-advisory tool and exclusive investor circle! 🔥& join our community of 5000+ users!
Use our Robo-advisory Tool for a start-to-finish financial plan! More than 1,000 investors and advisors use this!
New Tool! => Track your mutual funds and stock investments with this Google Sheet!
Follow Freefincal on Google News
Follow Freefincal on Google News
Subscribe to the freefincal Youtube Channel. Subscribe button courtesy: Vecteezy.
Subscribe to the freefincal Youtube Channel.
Follow freefincal on WhatsApp Channel
Follow freefincal on WhatsApp
Podcast: Let's Get RICH With PATTU! Every single Indian CAN grow their wealth! 
Listen to the Lets Get Rich with Pattu Podcast
Listen to the Let's Get Rich with Pattu Podcast
You can watch podcast episodes on the OfSpin Media Friends YouTube Channel.
Lets Get RICH With PATTU podcast on YouTube
Let's Get RICH With PATTU podcast on YouTube.

  • Do you have a comment about the above article? Reach out to us on Twitter: @freefincal or @pattufreefincal
  • Have a question? Subscribe to our newsletter with the form below.
  • Hit 'reply' to any email from us! We do not offer personalized investment advice. We can write a detailed article without mentioning your name if you have a generic question.

Join over 32,000 readers and get free money management solutions delivered to your inbox! Subscribe to get posts via email!

Explore the site! Search among our 2000+ articles for information and insight!

About The Author

Pattabiraman editor freefincalDr. M. Pattabiraman(PhD) is the founder, managing editor and primary author of freefincal. He is an associate professor at the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras. He has over ten years of experience publishing news analysis, research and financial product development. Connect with him via Twitter, Linkedin, or YouTube. Pattabiraman has co-authored three print books: (1) You can be rich too with goal-based investing (CNBC TV18) for DIY investors. (2) Gamechanger for young earners. (3) Chinchu Gets a Superpower! for kids. He has also written seven other free e-books on various money management topics. He is a patron and co-founder of “Fee-only India,” an organisation promoting unbiased, commission-free investment advice.
Our flagship course! Learn to manage your portfolio like a pro to achieve your goals regardless of market conditions! More than 3,000 investors and advisors are part of our exclusive community! Get clarity on how to plan for your goals and achieve the necessary corpus no matter what the market condition is!! Watch the first lecture for free!  One-time payment! No recurring fees! Life-long access to videos! Reduce fear, uncertainty and doubt while investing! Learn how to plan for your goals before and after retirement with confidence.
Our new course!  Increase your income by getting people to pay for your skills! More than 700 salaried employees, entrepreneurs and financial advisors are part of our exclusive community! Learn how to get people to pay for your skills! Whether you are a professional or small business owner who wants more clients via online visibility or a salaried person wanting a side income or passive income, we will show you how to achieve this by showcasing your skills and building a community that trusts you and pays you! (watch 1st lecture for free). One-time payment! No recurring fees! Life-long access to videos!   
Our new book for kids: “Chinchu gets a superpower!” is now available!
Both boy and girl version covers of Chinchu gets a superpower
Both the boy and girl version covers of Chinchu gets a superpower.
Most investor problems can be traced to a lack of informed decision-making. We have all made bad decisions and money mistakes when we started earning and spent years undoing these mistakes. Why should our children go through the same pain? What is this book about? As parents, what would it be if we had to groom one ability in our children that is key not only to money management and investing but to any aspect of life? My answer: Sound Decision Making. So in this book, we meet Chinchu, who is about to turn 10. What he wants for his birthday and how his parents plan for it and teach him several key ideas of decision-making and money management is the narrative. What readers say!
Feedback from a young reader after reading Chinchu gets a Superpower (small version)
Feedback from a young reader after reading Chinchu gets a Superpower!
Must-read book even for adults! This is something that every parent should teach their kids right from their young age. The importance of money management and decision making based on their wants and needs. Very nicely written in simple terms. - Arun.
Buy the book: Chinchu gets a superpower for your child!
How to profit from content writing: Our new ebook is for those interested in getting side income via content writing. It is available at a 50% discount for Rs. 500 only!
Want to check if the market is overvalued or undervalued? Use our market valuation tool (it will work with any index!), or get the Tactical Buy/Sell timing tool!
We publish monthly mutual fund screeners and momentum, low-volatility stock screeners.
About freefincal & it's content policy. Freefincal is a News Media Organization dedicated to providing original analysis, reports, reviews and insights on mutual funds, stocks, investing, retirement and personal finance developments. We do so without conflict of interest and bias. Follow us on Google News. Freefincal serves more than three million readers a year (5 million page views) with articles based only on factual information and detailed analysis by its authors. All statements made will be verified with credible and knowledgeable sources before publication. Freefincal does not publish paid articles, promotions, PR, satire or opinions without data. All opinions will be inferences backed by verifiable, reproducible evidence/data. Contact information: letters {at} freefincal {dot} com (sponsored posts or paid collaborations will not be entertained)
Connect with us on social media
Our publications

You Can Be Rich Too with Goal-Based Investing

You can be rich too with goal based investingPublished by CNBC TV18, this book is meant to help you ask the right questions and seek the correct answers, and since it comes with nine online calculators, you can also create custom solutions for your lifestyle! Get it now.
Gamechanger: Forget Startups, Join Corporate & Still Live the Rich Life You Want Gamechanger: Forget Start-ups, Join Corporate and Still Live the Rich Life you wantThis book is meant for young earners to get their basics right from day one! It will also help you travel to exotic places at a low cost! Get it or gift it to a young earner.

Your Ultimate Guide to Travel

Travel-Training-Kit-Cover-new This is an in-depth dive analysis into vacation planning, finding cheap flights, budget accommodation, what to do when travelling, and how travelling slowly is better financially and psychologically, with links to the web pages and hand-holding at every step. Get the pdf for Rs 300 (instant download)