Axis Small Cap Fund: SIP Performance Review

Published: July 4, 2020 at 11:21 am

We compare the SIP performance of Axis Small Cap Fund with multiple smallcap and midcap indices like Nifty Smallcap 250, Nifty Midcap 150 etc. All total return indices.

Kindly note although we shall present SIP returns data, we strongly believe a small cap mutual fund is not necessary for investors. Those who fancy it must recognise, as explained earlier, a SIP in Small Cap Mutual Funds is a waste of money and time. As an alternative, a tactical buy and sell method using moving averages lowers risk significantly.

Axis Small Cap Fund started as a five-year closed-ended fund in Nov 2013 with an option to be converted into an open-ended fund on maturity. It became an open-ended fund from Nov 29th 2018.

Its original benchmark was BSE Small Cap index (source:  fund prospectus filed with SEBI) and later when it complied with SEBI categorisation rules (in Nov 2018) changed its benchmark to Nifty Small cap 100 index TRI (Source:  latest scheme document)


The fund has been a “proper” smallcap fund for only the last 1.5 years. Prior to that, it was a midcap oriented small-cap fund. This must be kept in mind while comparing returns below.

Market cap allocation history of Axis Smallcap Fund
Market cap allocation history of Axis Smallcap Fund

SIP Performance of Axis Small Cap Fund

We shall consider the last ,2,3,4,5 and 6 year SIP returns (trailing) of Axis Smallcap fund and compare them with the following benchmarks:

  1. S&P BSE 400 MidSmallCap Index – TRI
  2. S&P BSE 250 Small Cap – TRI
  3. S&P BSE 150 MidCap – TRI
  4. Nifty MidSmallcap 400 Index – TRI
  5. Nifty Smallcap 50 – TRI
  6. Nifty Smallcap 250 – TRI
  7. Nifty Midcap 150 – TRI
  8. Nifty Smallcap 100 – TRI
  9. NIFTY 50 – TRI
DurationAxis Small Cap Fund(G)-Direct PlanNifty Smallcap 50 – TRINifty Smallcap 100 – TRI
1Y-4.9-16.7-14.0
2Y2.4-19.6-17.2
3Y2.8-20.8-17.6
4Y5.1-17.0-13.4
5Y7.0-12.8-9.0
6Y8.0-10.3-6.6
DurationAxis Small Cap Fund(G)-Direct PlanNifty Smallcap 250 – TRIS&P BSE 250 Small Cap – TRI
1Y-4.9-8.4-8.7
2Y2.4-12.9-13.2
3Y2.8-14.0-13.9
4Y5.1-10.3-9.8
5Y7.0-6.3-5.7
6Y8.0-4.0-3.8
DurationAxis Small Cap Fund(G)-Direct PlanNifty Midcap 150 – TRIS&P BSE 150 MidCap – TRI
1Y-4.90.53.3
2Y2.4-3.7-2.4
3Y2.8-4.1-3.5
4Y5.1-0.6-0.3
5Y7.02.62.6
6Y8.04.34.5
DurationAxis Small Cap Fund(G)-Direct PlanS&P BSE 250 Small Cap – TRI
1Y-4.9-8.7
2Y2.4-13.2
3Y2.8-13.9
4Y5.1-9.8
5Y7.0-5.7
6Y8.0-3.8
DurationAxis Small Cap Fund(G)-Direct PlanNifty MidSmallcap 400 Index – TRIS&P BSE 400 MidSmallCap Index – TRI
1Y-4.9-2.3-0.5
2Y2.4-6.6-5.8
3Y2.8-7.4-6.9
4Y5.1-3.8-3.5
5Y7.0-0.3-0.2
6Y8.01.61.7
DurationAxis Small Cap Fund(G)-Direct PlanNIFTY 50 – TRI
1Y-4.9-4.0
2Y2.4-2.4
3Y2.80.5
4Y5.13.4
5Y7.05.3
6Y8.05.5

Those are without a doubt excellent numbers. However, there are some aspects existing investors and potential new investors in Axis smallcap must keep in mind.

  1. If you must invest in smallcap fund, do not start SIPs in small cap funds, do this instead
  2. Axis Small cap does not have much of a history as a smallcap fund. AXIS AMC read the market post-Feb 2018 right. You cannot always expect them to do this
  3. Attached with a bank, its AUM could swell suddenly if the market picks up. From, just 221 Crores in Jan 2019 it went to 2500+ crores in Feb 2020. That is too much too soon!

 

Do share if you found this useful

We now publish both equity fund and debt fund (+ hybrid fund) screeners each month!
Use our Robo-advisory Excel Template for a start-to-finish financial plan! Now with a new demo video!  More than 415 investors and advisors use this!
Unlock the secrets of successful financial advisors and entrepreneurs with our new course!
My new book for kids: “Chinchu gets a superpower!” is now available!
Both boy and girl version covers of Chinchu gets a superpower
Both boy and girl version covers of Chinchu gets a superpower.
Most investor problems can be traced to a lack of informed decision making. We have all made bad decisions and money mistakes when we started earning and spent years undoing these mistakes. Why should our children go through the same pain? What is this book about? As parents, if we had to groom one ability in our children that is key not only to money management and investing but for any aspect of life, what would it be? My answer: Sound Decision Making. So in this book, we meet Chinchu, who is about to turn 10. What he wants for his birthday and how his parent’s plan for it and teach him several key ideas of decision making and money management is the narrative. What readers say!
Feedback from a young reader after reading Chinchu gets a Superpower (small version)
Feedback from a young reader after reading Chinchu gets a Superpower!
Must-read book even for adults! This is something that every parent should teach their kids right from their young age. The importance of money management and decision making based on their wants and needs. Very nicely written in simple terms. - Arun.
Buy the book: Chinchu gets a superpower for your child!
How to profit from content writing: Our new ebook for those interested in getting side income via content writing. It is available at a 50% discount for Rs. 500 only!
Did you know? We have more than 1000+ videos on YouTube to explore! Join our YouTube Community!

Join our courses in exclusive Facebook Groups!

  • 550+ members are now part of our new course: How to get people to pay for your skills! (watch 1st lecture for free). Learn how to get people to pay for your skills! Whether you are a professional or small business owner who wants more clients via online visibility or a salaried person wanting a side income or passive income, we will show how to achieve by showcasing your skills and building a community that trusts you and pays you!
  • Goal-based portfolio management! Join 2220+ members and get clarity on how to plan for your goals and achieve the necessary corpus no matter what the market condition is!! Watch the first lecture for free!  One-time payment of Rs. 3000 only. No recurring fees! Life-long access to videos (10+ hours content)  in an exclusive Facebook Group! Reduce fear, uncertainty and doubt while investing! Learn how to plan for your goals before and after retirement with confidence.

Want to check if the market is overvalued or undervalued? Use our market valuation tool (will work with any index!), or you buy the new Tactical Buy/Sell timing tool!
We publish mutual fund screeners and momentum, low volatility stock screeners .every month.
About the Author Pattabiraman editor freefincalM. Pattabiraman(PhD) is the founder, managing editor and primary author of freefincal. He is an associate professor at the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras. since Aug 2006. Connect with him via Twitter or Linkedin Pattabiraman has co-authored two print-books, You can be rich too with goal-based investing (CNBC TV18) and Gamechanger and seven other free e-books on various money management topics. He is a patron and co-founder of “Fee-only India,” an organisation to promote unbiased, commission-free investment advice. He conducts free money management sessions for corporates and associations based on money management. Previous engagements include World Bank, RBI, BHEL, Asian Paints, Cognizant, Madras Atomic Power Station, Honeywell, Tamil Nadu Investors Association, IIST Alumni Association. For speaking engagements, write to pattu [at] freefincal [dot] com
About freefincal & its content policy Freefincal is a News Media Organization dedicated to providing original analysis, reports, reviews and insights on developments in mutual funds, stocks, investing, retirement and personal finance. We do so without conflict of interest and bias. Follow us on Google News. Freefincal serves more than one million readers a year (2.5 million page views) with articles based only on factual information and detailed analysis by its authors. All statements made will be verified from credible and knowledgeable sources before publication. Freefincal does not publish any paid articles, promotions, PR, satire or opinions without data. All opinions presented will only be inferences backed by verifiable, reproducible evidence/data. Contact information: letters {at} freefincal {dot} com (sponsored posts or paid collaborations will not be entertained)
Connect with us on social media
Our publications

You Can Be Rich Too with Goal-Based Investing

You can be rich too with goal based investingPublished by CNBC TV18, this book is meant to help you ask the right questions, seek the correct answers, and since it comes with nine online calculators, you can also create custom solutions for your lifestyle! Get it now. It is also available in Kindle format.
Gamechanger: Forget Startups, Join Corporate & Still Live the Rich Life You Want Gamechanger: Forget Start-ups, Join Corporate and Still Live the Rich Life you wantThis book is meant for young earners to get their basics right from day one! It will also help you travel to exotic places at a low cost! Get it or gift it to a young earner.

Your Ultimate Guide to Travel

Travel-Training-Kit-Cover-new This is an in-depth dive analysis into vacation planning, finding cheap flights, budget accommodation, what to do when travelling, how travelling slowly is better financially and psychologically with links to the web pages and hand-holding at every step. Get the pdf for Rs 199 (instant download)
Free android apps