ICICI Prudential Flexicap Fund Review

Published: June 28, 2021 at 9:53 am

In this article, we review ICICI Prudential Flexicap Fund, an open-ended dynamic equity scheme investing across large cap, mid cap & small cap stocks. The NFO period of this fund is between June 28, 2021, to July 12, 2021.

Why ICICI Prudential Flexicap Fund? As usual, some history is necessary to establish context. Prior to the SEBI Mutual Fund Categorization rules, there were no rigid market cap rules for portfolio creation. They could invest anywhere they like under the umbrella of a diversified equity fund.

SEBI also introduced definitions of large cap stocks  (the 1st-100th company in terms of full market capitalization); mid cap (101st-250th company in terms of full market capitalization) and small cap stocks (251st company onwards).

From mid-2018 onwards, the multi-cap mutual fund category came into force. This must hold min 65% of equity and can invest across market caps. However, in Sep 2020, SEBI surprised everyone by modifying the multi-cap fund rules.

They now wanted multicap funds to hold a minimum of 75% equity with 25% in large cap stocks, 25% mid cap stocks and 25% small cap stocks The deadline to comply was Feb 2021. Since this would affect some multi-cap funds with large AUM, fund houses appealed to SEBI.


🔥Enjoy massive year-end discounts on our courses and robo-advisory tool! 🔥
Get free money management solutions delivered to your mailbox! Subscribe to get posts via email! (Subscribers get exclusive discounts!)
 
New Tool! => Track your mutual funds and stocks investments with this Google Sheet!

SEBI then introduced a new category – flexi-cap funds in Nov 2020 and allowed existing multicap fund to either stay a multicap fund and comply with the new rules or rename themselves as flexi cap funds.  A flexi cap mutual fund is an open-ended dynamic equity scheme investing across large cap, mid cap, small cap stocks with a minimum of 65% of assets in equity & equity related instruments.

To conform with the change, several AMCs converted their multicap fund to flexi cap from Nov 2020 to Jan 2021. For example, Parag Parikh Long Term Equity Fund became Parag Parikh Flexi Cap Fund.

ICICI Multicap Fund did not change. It chose to remain a multi-cap fund and comply with the new SEBI multicap rules. With effect from Jan 29 2021, its benchmark became Nifty 500 Multicap 50:25:25 instead of S&P BSE 500 TRI.

Now the AMC had a new fund category – flexi cap – in which it had no funds. That is why they have now come up with ICICI Prudential Flexicap Fund. As usual, they would use the NFO period to “energize” their distribution partners to gather as much AUM as possible. The fund house has a strong standing among its partners and recently amassed about Rs. 4000 crores during the NFO period in its Business Cycle Fund! So they would be hoping for a minimum collection of Rs. 1000 crores from this NFO.

Before we get into the fancy mumbo jumbo from the brochure of ICICI Prudential Flexicap Fund, let us take a look at the record of ICICI Prudential Multicap Fund. After all, aside from the last 4-5 months, they have been running it as a flexi cap fund for a while now.

3-Y5-Y
ICICI Prudential Multicap Fund – Direct Plan14.5514.9
S&P BSE 500 TRI15.1916.43

The Multicap fund has failed to beat the S&P 500 Index over the last 3 to 5 years when the fund has the full flexibility to invest across the market cap. Even if we discount the five year period, the last three year period was after the SEBI categorization rules kicked in. So this hardly evokes confidence in the flexi cap NFO’s strategy!

ICICI Prudential Flexicap Fund: Strategy

In the scheme’s presentation, the fund house has positioned ICICI Prudential Flexicap Fund as having a risk and reward in between a large cap fund and a large and midcap fund but also claim the fund can freely around in market cap. This is more a reflection of the funds current strategy:50-100% large cap and the rest in mid and small caps.

They will use an “in house marketcap model” to determine the attractiveness of a market cap segment. This model will use these parameters (among others!):

  • Mid and Smallcap valuations as a % of total Marketcap
  • Valuation: The model will consider Price to Book Value (P/B) discount/premium of Mid & Smallcaps Vs. Largecaps
  • Relative Strength Index (RSI) Differential of Mid and Smallcaps Vs. Largecaps to determine which segment is oversold or overbought.
  • Macro-economic indicators for both market cap and sector calls.

In addition, in the initial phase (after the NFO period), the fund will gradually deploy funds into equity taking into account market valuations (the scheme can hold up to 35% in debt or arbitrage opportunities

Now, all this sounds impressive (that is the only objective of an NFO brochure) but considering the less than impressive performance of ICICI Multicap fund for the reasons mentioned above, we see no reason to get excited about this new fund offering.

We recommend that investors give ICICI Prudential Flexicap Fund a miss. At the very least, one will have to give their “in house model” a few years to perform, but our investment goals will not wait until then. So it is best to leave the waiting to analysts.

Do share this article with your friends using the buttons below.

🔥Enjoy massive year-end discounts on our courses and robo-advisory tool! 🔥
Use our Robo-advisory Excel Tool for a start-to-finish financial plan! More than 1000 investors and advisors use this!
  • Follow us on Google News.
  • Do you have a comment about the above article? Reach out to us on Twitter: @freefincal or @pattufreefincal
  • Join our YouTube Community and explore more than 1000 videos!
  • Have a question? Subscribe to our newsletter with this form.
  • Hit 'reply' to any email from us! We do not offer personalized investment advice. We can write a detailed article without mentioning your name if you have a generic question.

Get free money management solutions delivered to your mailbox! Subscribe to get posts via email! (Subscribers get exclusive discounts!)
 
Explore the site! Search among our 2000+ articles for information and insight!

About The Author

Pattabiraman editor freefincalDr M. Pattabiraman(PhD) is the founder, managing editor and primary author of freefincal. He is an associate professor at the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras. He has over nine years of experience publishing news analysis, research and financial product development. Connect with him via Twitter or Linkedin or YouTube. Pattabiraman has co-authored three print books: (1) You can be rich too with goal-based investing (CNBC TV18) for DIY investors. (2) Gamechanger for young earners. (3) Chinchu Gets a Superpower! for kids. He has also written seven other free e-books on various money management topics. He is a patron and co-founder of “Fee-only India,” an organisation for promoting unbiased, commission-free investment advice.
  Our flagship course! Learn to manage your portfolio like a pro to achieve your goals regardless of market conditions! More than 3000 investors and advisors are part of our exclusive community! Get clarity on how to plan for your goals and achieve the necessary corpus no matter what the market condition is!! Watch the first lecture for free!  One-time payment! No recurring fees! Life-long access to videos! Reduce fear, uncertainty and doubt while investing! Learn how to plan for your goals before and after retirement with confidence.
Our new course!  Increase your income by getting people to pay for your skills! More than 700 salaried employees, entrepreneurs and financial advisors are part of our exclusive community! Learn how to get people to pay for your skills! Whether you are a professional or small business owner who wants more clients via online visibility or a salaried person wanting a side income or passive income, we will show you how to achieve this by showcasing your skills and building a community that trusts you and pays you! (watch 1st lecture for free). One-time payment! No recurring fees! Life-long access to videos!   
Our new book for kids: “Chinchu gets a superpower!” is now available!
Both boy and girl version covers of Chinchu gets a superpower
Both boy and girl version covers of Chinchu gets a superpower.
Most investor problems can be traced to a lack of informed decision-making. We have all made bad decisions and money mistakes when we started earning and spent years undoing these mistakes. Why should our children go through the same pain? What is this book about? As parents, what would it be if we had to groom one ability in our children that is key not only to money management and investing but to any aspect of life? My answer: Sound Decision Making. So in this book, we meet Chinchu, who is about to turn 10. What he wants for his birthday and how his parents plan for it and teach him several key ideas of decision making and money management is the narrative. What readers say!
Feedback from a young reader after reading Chinchu gets a Superpower (small version)
Feedback from a young reader after reading Chinchu gets a Superpower!
Must-read book even for adults! This is something that every parent should teach their kids right from their young age. The importance of money management and decision making based on their wants and needs. Very nicely written in simple terms. - Arun.
Buy the book: Chinchu gets a superpower for your child!
How to profit from content writing: Our new ebook for those interested in getting side income via content writing. It is available at a 50% discount for Rs. 500 only!
Want to check if the market is overvalued or undervalued? Use our market valuation tool (it will work with any index!), or you buy the new Tactical Buy/Sell timing tool!
We publish monthly mutual fund screeners and momentum, low volatility stock screeners.
About freefincal & its content policy Freefincal is a News Media Organization dedicated to providing original analysis, reports, reviews and insights on mutual funds, stocks, investing, retirement and personal finance developments. We do so without conflict of interest and bias. Follow us on Google News. Freefincal serves more than three million readers a year (5 million page views) with articles based only on factual information and detailed analysis by its authors. All statements made will be verified from credible and knowledgeable sources before publication. Freefincal does not publish any paid articles, promotions, PR, satire or opinions without data. All opinions presented will only be inferences backed by verifiable, reproducible evidence/data. Contact information: letters {at} freefincal {dot} com (sponsored posts or paid collaborations will not be entertained)
Connect with us on social media
Our publications

You Can Be Rich Too with Goal-Based Investing

You can be rich too with goal based investingPublished by CNBC TV18, this book is meant to help you ask the right questions and seek the correct answers, and since it comes with nine online calculators, you can also create custom solutions for your lifestyle! Get it now.
Gamechanger: Forget Startups, Join Corporate & Still Live the Rich Life You Want Gamechanger: Forget Start-ups, Join Corporate and Still Live the Rich Life you wantThis book is meant for young earners to get their basics right from day one! It will also help you travel to exotic places at a low cost! Get it or gift it to a young earner.

Your Ultimate Guide to Travel

Travel-Training-Kit-Cover-new This is an in-depth dive analysis into vacation planning, finding cheap flights, budget accommodation, what to do when travelling, and how travelling slowly is better financially and psychologically with links to the web pages and hand-holding at every step. Get the pdf for Rs 199 (instant download)