Axis Small Cap Fund Review: Should this be part of your portfolio?

Axis Small Cap Fund Review Should this be part of your portfolio

Published: September 15, 2019 at 11:11 am

Last Updated on

This is a review of Axis Small Cap Fund that has recently caught the attention of mutual fund investors. At the time of writing, it is the only fund with a positive one-year trailing return. So immediately investors would like to know if this is worth investing in. How did this fund manage to fall lower than small cap benchmarks and other small cap funds? Is this not an attractive feature? Let us find out in this review.

Past performance is the only handle to hold on to when it comes to reviewing a mutual fund for analysis or investment. However, one cannot merely look at last 1,3,5 year returns, plot rolling returns etc. and list observations — the history of the fund matters. Axis Small Cap Fund is an interesting example here.

When I say history matters, the more typical example is that of a fund changing nature. For example, the oldest small cap fund today is Quant Small Cap. Until Oct 2018 it was a debt mutual fund! So no point looking at it last one year return! History provides context for using numbers.

Axis Small Cap Fund History

Axis Small Cap Fund started as a five-year closed-ended fund in Nov 2013 with an option to be converted into an open-ended fund on maturity. It became an open-ended fund from Nov 29th 2018.

Its original benchmark was BSE Small Cap index (source:  fund prospectus filed with SEBI) and later when it complied with SEBI categorisation rules (in Nov 2018) changed its benchmark to Nifty Small cap 100 index TRI (Source:  latest scheme document)

Axis Small Cap Fund Performance

I think the maturity date of the closed-ended period has had a significant influence on the fund’s performance. This is the NAV movement during its closed-ended period.

Axis Small Cap Fund Performance As a Closed-ended FundNotice that the margin of outperformance found between April 2014 to Feb 2017 significantly reduced over the next year. I think 28th Nov 2018, the end of the closed-ended period has had a significant impact on the fund manager.  Recognising an overvalued small cap segment, they seem to have increased mid cap stock exposure.

I do not have access to market cap break up history buy over the last few months, but I have seen significant mid cap exposure in the fund. Morningstar currently classifies Axis Small Cap as a growth-oriented mid cap fund with 54% mid cap stocks! According to Value Research, mid cap exposure is 43%.

Hate ads but would like to support the site? Subscribe to our ad-free newsletter and get beautifully formatted full articles delivered to your inbox!

From the point of view of a closed-ended fund investor, this makes sense. The fund manager sensing an overvalued small cap space so close to the maturity date decided to increase mid cap allocation. This ensured those who quit the fund on maturity did not lose much due to the fall since Jan 2018.

However, the fund has become open-ended since Dec 2018 and is required to hold 65% small cap (which it still does not if we go by the rating portals!). I think the fund’s portfolio is still hungover from the closed to open-ended transition.  They are happy to maintain high mid cap exposure as long as the small cap index is heading south.

The last time the small cap index moved down, the fund protected investors from losses because the five year maturity date was on the horizon. How it will behave in future is entirely unknown.

The cash holding of the fund has also played a significant role. As on Jan 31st 2017, the fund held 93% of equity as the fund manager had no redemption pressure. Even three months before the maturity date, as on Aug 31st, 2018, equity was 91%. By Oct 31st 2018, the cash holding shot up to 26% – possibly to handle maturity redemptions and also due to market conditions. We will never know the exact reasons.

The fund started its open-ended journey with 25% cash (end-Nov 2018). Even by Mar-end 2019, the cash level was 23%. Aug-end 2019, it is still 21%. When combined with a good amount of mid cap stocks, Axis Small Cap was able to protect investors from loss over the last 1.5 years.

Should Axis Small Cap Fund be part of your portfolio?

If (repeat if, I do not recommend that you do) you like small cap funds then it is essential you are not carried away by the performance of Axis Small Cap over the last two years or so. I think its NAV movement was heavily influenced by looking at market conditions in the context of the closed-ended maturity date.

If you argue, “so what? It helped investors did it not?” I would counter that we have no idea how it would operate as a fully SEBI-compliant small cap fund. If we go by rating portals, it still has not.

Therefore, I think the fund needs more time for evaluation. Did you notice that its AUM is only about 885 crores even though it has fallen significantly lower than peers? By the time, this fund became available in the market, the small cap party was over. Investors, especially small cap fund investors, always enter after they see good returns. So as long the small cap index is heading south, you can evaluate this fund in peace without worrying about AUM increase!

Do share if you found this useful
Hate ads but would like to support the site? Subscribe to our ad-free newsletter and get beautifully formatted full articles delivered to your inbox!

About the Author M Pattabiraman author of freefincal.comM. Pattabiraman(PhD) is the author and owner of freefincal.com.  He is an associate professor at the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras since Aug 2006. Pattu” as he is popularly known, has co-authored two print-books, You can be rich too with goal based investing (CNBC TV18) and Gamechanger and seven other free e-books on various topics of money management.  He is a patron and co-founder of “Fee-only India” an organisation to promote unbiased, commission-free investment advice. Pattu publishes unbiased, promotion-free research, analysis and holistic money management advice. Freefincal serves more than one million readers a year (2.5 million page views) with numbers based analysis on topical issues and has more than a 100 free calculators on different aspects of insurance and investment analysis. He conducts free money management sessions for corporates  and associations(see details below). Previous engagements include World Bank, RBI, BHEL, Asian Paints, TamilNadu Investors Association etc. Contact information: freefincal {at} Gmail {dot} com (sponsored posts or paid collaborations will not be entertained)
Want to conduct a sales-free "basics of money management" session in your office?
I conduct free seminars to employees or societies. Only the very basics and getting-started steps are discussed (no scary math):For example: How to define financial goals, how to save tax with a clear goal in mind; How to use a credit card for maximum benefit; When to buy a house; How to start investing; where to invest; how to invest for and after retirement etc. depending on the audience. If you are interested, you can contact me: freefincal [at] Gmail [dot] com. I can do the talk via conferencing software, so there is no cost for your company. If you want me to travel, you need to cover my airfare (I live in Chennai)

Connect with us on social media


Content Policy

Freefincal has original unbiased, conflict-of-interest-free,  topical reports, reviews, commentary and analysis on all aspects of personal finance like mutual funds, stocks, insurance etc. All guest authors and contributors to the site also do not have any conflict of interest. If you find the content useful, please consider supporting us by (1) sharing our articles and (2) disabling ad-blockers for our site if you are using one. No promotional content We do not accept sponsored posts and link exchange requests from content writers and agencies. This is our privacy policy Our website is non-profit in nature. The revenue from the advertisement will only be used for hosting charges, domain registration charges, specific plugins necessary for traffic growth and analytics services for search engine optimisation.

Do check out my books


You Can Be Rich Too with Goal-Based Investing

You can be rich too with goal based investingMy first book is meant to help you ask the right questions, seek the right answers and since it comes with nine online calculators, you can also create custom solutions for your lifestyle! Get it now.  It is also available in Kindle format.
Gamechanger: Forget Startups, Join Corporate & Still Live the Rich Life You WantGamechanger: Forget Start-ups, Join Corporate and Still Live the Rich Life you wantMy second book is meant for young earners to get their basics right from day one! It will also help you travel to exotic places at low cost! Get it or gift it to a young earner

The ultimate guide to travel by Pranav Surya

Travel-Training-Kit-Cover This is a deep dive analysis into vacation planning, finding cheap flights, budget accommodation, what to do when travelling, how travelling slowly is better financially and psychologically with links to the web pages and hand-holding at every step.  Get the pdf for ₹199 (instant download)

Free Apps for your Android Phone

All calculators from our book, “You can be Rich Too” are now available on Google Play!
Install Financial Freedom App! (Google Play Store)
Install Freefincal Retirement Planner App! (Google Play Store)
Find out if you have enough to say "FU" to your employer (Google Play Store)

Blog Comment Policy

Your thoughts are vital to the health of this blog and are the driving force behind the analysis and calculators that you see here. We welcome criticism and differing opinions. I will do my very best to respond to all comments asap. Please do not include hyperlinks or email ids in the comment body. Such comments will be moderated and I reserve the right to delete the entire comment or remove the links before approving them.

16 Comments

  1. Just check the portfolio comparison on thefundoo.com
    According to this website this fund holds around 73% small cap stocks and 15% cash.

  2. Sir please do a review of sbi small cap too. I found that this one seems to be better than nifty next 50. In terms of volatility and returns too.

    1. Did you proof read what you wrote? If you meant what you wrote, you dont deserve any respect. Respect is mutual.

      If you do not know how to find NAV even from the AMC website, why are you even here in this group.

      Pay fees to a Fee only advisor and get advise else, go to a commission based broker and check.

  3. Dear sir ,
    I fiundnout about your page from paisa waisa podcast(great podcast) i, if i want to understand all type of funds and fundamentals of the same which book do you propose?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *