Edelweiss Greater China Equity Off-shore Fund Review

Published: March 14, 2021 at 10:52 am

Last Updated on July 21, 2021

In this article, we review the Edelweiss Greater China Equity Off-shore Fund. This is an open-ended fund of fund scheme investing in JPMorgan Funds – Greater China Fund (the underlying fund).

JPMorgan Funds – Greater China Fund is an equity fund investing primarily in a diversified portfolio of domiciled companies in, or carrying out the main part of their economic activity in, a country of the Greater China region.

It is uncanny how investors look at the last one year return of a fund and assume, “this looks like a good idea for a long-term investment”. We saw this to be the case for PGIM India Global Equity Opportunities Fund(reviewed), and now with a 75% last one year return, this fund has caught the attention of investors. And as usual, the investor-interest will peak after the market peak.

Many investors may have patriotic reasons to not invest in Chinese equity. Many investors may have governance-related or lack of transparency related reasons to not invest in Chinese equity. We shall not discuss these issues here and focus only on the performance of the underlying fund.


Edelweiss MF acquired JP Morgan MF India in late 2016. So from Nov 25th 2016, JPMorgan Greater China Equity Offshore Fund became Edelweiss Greater China Equity Off-shore Fund. The fund has an inception date of 25th Aug 2009.

As per the Feb 2021 factsheet from Edelweiss MF, this is the portfolio of the JPMorgan Funds – Greater China Fund.

  • Tencent Holdings Ltd. 9.72%
  • Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Co., Ltd. 9.63%
  • Alibaba Group Holding Ltd. 8.00%
  • Meituan Class B 3.99%
  • Ping An Insurance (Group) Company of China, Ltd. Class H 3.33%
  • Hong Kong Exchanges & Clearing Ltd. 2.57%
  • China Merchants Bank Co., Ltd. Class H 2.29%
  • Wuxi Biologics (Cayman) Inc. 2.14%
  • Pinduoduo, Inc. Sponsored ADR Class A 2.01%
  • Kingsoft Corp. Ltd. 1.95%
  • Alibaba Group Holding Ltd. Sponsored ADR 1.75%
  • Realtek Semiconductor Corp 1.69%
  • Sun Hung Kai Properties Limited 1.60%
  • Ping An Bank Co. Ltd. Class A 1.55%
  • NetEase, Inc 1.51%
  • Yunnan Energy New Material Co., Ltd. Class A 1.44%
  • Kingdee International Software Group Co., Ltd. 1.44%
  • Country Garden Services Holdings Co. Ltd. 1.40%
  • Chailease Holding Co. Ltd. 1.34%
  • Sunny Optical Technology (Group) Co., Ltd. 1.31%
  • Hang Seng Bank, Limited 1.26%
  • Vanguard International Semiconductor Co. 1.25%
  • Xinyi Solar Holdings Ltd. 1.23%
  • ENN Energy Holdings Limited 1.22%
  • ASPEED Technology, Inc. 1.22%
  • Parade Technologies, Ltd. 1.17%
  • ASE Technology Holding Co., Ltd. 1.10%
  • Shenzhen Mindray Bio-Medical Electronics Co., Ltd. Class A 1.01%
  • Formosa Petrochemical Corp 1.01%
  • Shenzhou International Group Holdings Limited 1.00%
  • Others 27.87%

The Edelweiss FOF has an AUM of Rs. 1200 Crores (Feb 2021), and as of Dec 2020, about 60% of it was in the direct plan. The direct plan has a TER of 1.34% which includes  0.77% TER of the underlying fund. The regular plan has an atrocious TER of 2.37%. The distributor pockets the difference in TER between the regular and direct plan from the investors current market value for those who may not know.

The since inception growth of Edelweiss Gr China Equity Off-Shore Fund (regular plan) is compared below with Nifty 50 TRI. Aside from the growth spurt over the last year, the fund’s performance has largely been unremarkable. Simple intuition should tell us that this momentum is unlikely to last and has already started ‘correcting’.

Since inception growth of Edelweiss Gr China Equity Off-Shore Fund vs Nifty 50 TRI
Since inception growth of Edelweiss Gr China Equity Off-Shore Fund vs Nifty 50 TRI

The same is true of the underlying fund when compared with its benchmark: MSCI Golden Dragon. Screenshots from MorningStar UK.

Performance of JPMorgan Funds - Greater China Fund A (acc) - USD compared with benchmarks since inception of the fund
Performance of JPMorgan Funds – Greater China Fund A (acc) – USD compared with benchmarks since its inception.
Performance of JPMorgan Funds - Greater China Fund A (acc) - USD compared with benchmarks over the last 3 years
Performance of JPMorgan Funds – Greater China Fund A (acc) – USD compared with benchmarks over the last three years.

If you look at the JP Morgan fund page, the performance will read as shown below, but the bulk of the outperformance came in the last year. There also seems to be a distinct deviation in the fund’s portfolio and the index portfolio.

JPM I (acc) – USDMSCI Golden Dragon (USD)
3 YEARS22.09%11.67%
5 YEARS27.84%19.66%
10 YEARS13.54%9.20%

Shown below is the 1524 5-year data points (rolling returns) for each series in INR. Notice that the Edelweiss Greater China Equity Off-shore Fund has only recently outperformed the Nifty 50 TRI or S&P 500 TRI INR.

Five year rolling returns of Edelweiss Gr China Equity Off-Shore Fund vs Nifty 50 TRI vs S&P 500 TRI INR
Five-year rolling returns of Edelweiss Gr China Equity Off-Shore Fund vs Nifty 50 TRI vs S&P 500 TRI INR.

Aside from patriotic or nature of the governance, even from a mere return point of view (which is all that most investors care about), there is no compelling reason to invest in Edelweiss Greater China Equity Off-shore Fund. We recommend that investor not get swayed by recent returns and avoid this fund.

This “international diversification” is often a messy business for most retail investors, incapable of measuring the impact of such portfolio clutter. At least for the moment, only the US indices seem to satisfy the young investors craving for insatiable returns, excuse me, ‘diversification’. So it is better to prefer Motilal Oswal S&P 500 Index Fund compared to this (relatively speaking).

Do share if you found this useful

We now publish both equity fund and debt fund (+ hybrid fund) screeners each month!
Use our Robo-advisory Excel Template for a start-to-finish financial plan! Now with a new demo video!  More than 415 investors and advisors use this!
Unlock the secrets of successful financial advisors and entrepreneurs with our new course!
My new book for kids: “Chinchu gets a superpower!” is now available!
Both boy and girl version covers of Chinchu gets a superpower
Both boy and girl version covers of Chinchu gets a superpower.
Most investor problems can be traced to a lack of informed decision making. We have all made bad decisions and money mistakes when we started earning and spent years undoing these mistakes. Why should our children go through the same pain? What is this book about? As parents, if we had to groom one ability in our children that is key not only to money management and investing but for any aspect of life, what would it be? My answer: Sound Decision Making. So in this book, we meet Chinchu, who is about to turn 10. What he wants for his birthday and how his parent’s plan for it and teach him several key ideas of decision making and money management is the narrative. What readers say!
Feedback from a young reader after reading Chinchu gets a Superpower (small version)
Feedback from a young reader after reading Chinchu gets a Superpower!
Must-read book even for adults! This is something that every parent should teach their kids right from their young age. The importance of money management and decision making based on their wants and needs. Very nicely written in simple terms. - Arun.
Buy the book: Chinchu gets a superpower for your child!
How to profit from content writing: Our new ebook for those interested in getting side income via content writing. It is available at a 50% discount for Rs. 500 only!
Did you know? We have more than 1000+ videos on YouTube to explore! Join our YouTube Community!

Join our courses in exclusive Facebook Groups!

  • 550+ members are now part of our new course: How to get people to pay for your skills! (watch 1st lecture for free). Learn how to get people to pay for your skills! Whether you are a professional or small business owner who wants more clients via online visibility or a salaried person wanting a side income or passive income, we will show how to achieve by showcasing your skills and building a community that trusts you and pays you!
  • Goal-based portfolio management! Join 2220+ members and get clarity on how to plan for your goals and achieve the necessary corpus no matter what the market condition is!! Watch the first lecture for free!  One-time payment of Rs. 3000 only. No recurring fees! Life-long access to videos (10+ hours content)  in an exclusive Facebook Group! Reduce fear, uncertainty and doubt while investing! Learn how to plan for your goals before and after retirement with confidence.

Want to check if the market is overvalued or undervalued? Use our market valuation tool (will work with any index!), or you buy the new Tactical Buy/Sell timing tool!
We publish mutual fund screeners and momentum, low volatility stock screeners .every month.
About the Author Pattabiraman editor freefincalM. Pattabiraman(PhD) is the founder, managing editor and primary author of freefincal. He is an associate professor at the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras. since Aug 2006. Connect with him via Twitter or Linkedin Pattabiraman has co-authored two print-books, You can be rich too with goal-based investing (CNBC TV18) and Gamechanger and seven other free e-books on various money management topics. He is a patron and co-founder of “Fee-only India,” an organisation to promote unbiased, commission-free investment advice. He conducts free money management sessions for corporates and associations based on money management. Previous engagements include World Bank, RBI, BHEL, Asian Paints, Cognizant, Madras Atomic Power Station, Honeywell, Tamil Nadu Investors Association, IIST Alumni Association. For speaking engagements, write to pattu [at] freefincal [dot] com
About freefincal & its content policy Freefincal is a News Media Organization dedicated to providing original analysis, reports, reviews and insights on developments in mutual funds, stocks, investing, retirement and personal finance. We do so without conflict of interest and bias. Follow us on Google News. Freefincal serves more than one million readers a year (2.5 million page views) with articles based only on factual information and detailed analysis by its authors. All statements made will be verified from credible and knowledgeable sources before publication. Freefincal does not publish any paid articles, promotions, PR, satire or opinions without data. All opinions presented will only be inferences backed by verifiable, reproducible evidence/data. Contact information: letters {at} freefincal {dot} com (sponsored posts or paid collaborations will not be entertained)
Connect with us on social media
Our publications

You Can Be Rich Too with Goal-Based Investing

You can be rich too with goal based investingPublished by CNBC TV18, this book is meant to help you ask the right questions, seek the correct answers, and since it comes with nine online calculators, you can also create custom solutions for your lifestyle! Get it now. It is also available in Kindle format.
Gamechanger: Forget Startups, Join Corporate & Still Live the Rich Life You Want Gamechanger: Forget Start-ups, Join Corporate and Still Live the Rich Life you wantThis book is meant for young earners to get their basics right from day one! It will also help you travel to exotic places at a low cost! Get it or gift it to a young earner.

Your Ultimate Guide to Travel

Travel-Training-Kit-Cover-new This is an in-depth dive analysis into vacation planning, finding cheap flights, budget accommodation, what to do when travelling, how travelling slowly is better financially and psychologically with links to the web pages and hand-holding at every step. Get the pdf for Rs 199 (instant download)
Free android apps