PGIM India Global Equity Opportunities Fund Review: Should You Invest?

Published: September 7, 2020 at 12:44 pm

This is a review of PGIM India Global Equity Opportunities Fund. A trailing one year return of 64% (as on Sep 3rd 2020) has been hard to ignore for many readers and I have received several requests for this review.

The first step in evaluating a fund is to check its history. PGIM India Global Equity Opportunities Fund has a long and chequered history. It was started in May 2010 by Deutsche Mutual Fund as DWS Global Agribusiness Offshore Fund that would invest in Luxembourg based DWS Invest Global Agribusiness Fund based.

Pramerica Mutual Fund acquired Deutsche Mutual Fund in Aug 2015. Prior to that, Dewan Housing Finance Corporation Ltd (DHFL) had purchased 50% stake in Pramerical Mutual Fund. From Sep 2015, Pramerica MF became DHFL Pramerica MF. The fund now became DHFL Pramerica Global Agribusiness Offshore Fund.

From Oct 2018, the fund was renamed as DHFL Pramerica Global Equity Opportunities Fund and started to invest in PGIM Jennison Global Equity Opportunities Fund. As is well known, DHFL got into trouble unable to pay dues and had to exit the MF business. Prudential Investment Management (later renamed PGIM) acquired DHFL Pramerica by July 2019.

Thus PGIM India Global Equity Opportunities Fund is effectively less than two years old. It is important to fall prey to the classic retail investor mistake – look at a high return from the recent past, get excited, put in money only to see a string of poor returns.


PGIM India Global Equity Opportunities Fund currently has an AUM of 194 Crores with an expense ratio of 1.45% for the regular plan and 0.26% for the direct plan. The direct plan expense is almost half that for Franklin India Feeder – Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund and possibly Axis Global Equity Alpha Fund of Fund (this is in the NFO stage so expenses are not yet known).

The 0.26% expense is on top of the 0.87% expense for PGIM Jennison Global Equity Opportunities Fund USD I Acc. Part of the reason why PGIM India Global Equity Opportunities Fund delivered stellar returns over the last year should be clear from the below graph.

The since inception NAV movement of PGIM Jennison Global Equity Opportunities Fund USD I Acc (the underlying fund of PGIM India Global Equity Opportunities Fund) compared with S&P 500 Total Return in USD and NASDAQ 100 Total Return in USD is shown below.

Since inception NAV movement of PGIM Jennison Global Equity Opportunities Fund USD I Acc (the underlying fund of PGIM India Global Equity Opportunities Fund) compared with S&P 500 Total Return in USD and NASAQ 100 Total Return in USD
Since inception NAV movement of PGIM Jennison Global Equity Opportunities Fund USD I Acc (the underlying fund of PGIM India Global Equity Opportunities Fund) compared with S&P 500 Total Return in USD and NASDAQ 100 Total Return in USD

Some of the stocks that have driven the NASDAQ 100 up this year are part of the PGIM Jennison fund. As on June 30th 2020, the top holdings are:

1 Amazon.com 7.0%
2 Apple 5.2%
3 Adyen 4.7%
4 Shopify 4.5%
5 Netflix 4.5%
6 Tesla 4.3%
7 MercadoLibre 4.2%
8 Microsoft 4.1%
9 Meituan Dianping 4.0%
10 Mastercard 3.6%

The IT sector weight is 18% higher than its benchmark: MSCI All Country World Index. (as on June 30th 2020, the July 31st weights are available in the Financial Times fund page).

Should you invest in PGIM India Global Equity Opportunities Fund?

Shown below is the three-year rolling returns of PGIM Jennison Global Equity Opportunities Fund USD I Acc and NASDAQ 100 TR USD and SP500 TRI USD and Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund – I (acc) USD and Schroder ISF Global Equity Alpha Fund USD.

The Franklin US Feeder fund invests in the Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund and the new Axis Global Equity Alpha Fund of Fund invests in Schroder ISF Global Equity Alpha Fund. All returns are in USD. There are only 125 data points in each coloured line.

Three-year rolling returns of PGIM Jennison Global Equity Opportunities Fund USD I Acc and NASDAQ 100 TR USD and SP500 TRI USD and Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund - I (acc) USD and Schroder ISF Global Equity Alpha USD
Three-year rolling returns of PGIM Jennison Global Equity Opportunities Fund USD I Acc and NASDAQ 100 TR USD and SP500 TRI USD and Franklin U.S. Opportunities Fund – I (acc) USD and Schroder ISF Global Equity Alpha USD

If you want to chase after returns, do not mind concentration risk and huge falls that can result from it,  Motilal Oswal NASDAQ 100 Fund of Fund is a relatively better choice compared to PGIM India Global Equity Opportunities Fund.

The Motilal Oswal fund of fund has a total expense of 0.1% plus 0.54% for the underlying N100 ETF.  Compared to this the PGIM fund investors will have to pay 0.26% + 0.87% (see above). More importantly, the fund managers call can (like with any active fund) make or break returns.

An investor wanting “US stock exposure” with better diversification among sectors to reduce risk is better off with Motilal Oswal S&P 500 Index Fund. This currently has an expense ratio of only 0.49%. See: Motilal Oswal S&P 500 Index Fund: What return can I expect from this?

Consider the way in which NASDAQ has zoomed up in the last few months, investors are better off with relatively sedate(!) S&P 500, but must also appreciate basic portfolio management techniques to lower overall risk.

Investors must never invest based on recent past performance. It would almost always be a case of “what goes up will come down” and better to invest when “down” and then “up” (again relatively speaking with associated T&C!).

Do share if you found this useful

We now publish both equity fund and debt fund (+ hybrid fund) screeners each month!
Use our Robo-advisory Excel Template for a start-to-finish financial plan! Now with a new demo video!  More than 415 investors and advisors use this!
Unlock the secrets of successful financial advisors and entrepreneurs with our new course!
My new book for kids: “Chinchu gets a superpower!” is now available!
Both boy and girl version covers of Chinchu gets a superpower
Both boy and girl version covers of Chinchu gets a superpower.
Most investor problems can be traced to a lack of informed decision making. We have all made bad decisions and money mistakes when we started earning and spent years undoing these mistakes. Why should our children go through the same pain? What is this book about? As parents, if we had to groom one ability in our children that is key not only to money management and investing but for any aspect of life, what would it be? My answer: Sound Decision Making. So in this book, we meet Chinchu, who is about to turn 10. What he wants for his birthday and how his parent’s plan for it and teach him several key ideas of decision making and money management is the narrative. What readers say!
Feedback from a young reader after reading Chinchu gets a Superpower (small version)
Feedback from a young reader after reading Chinchu gets a Superpower!
Must-read book even for adults! This is something that every parent should teach their kids right from their young age. The importance of money management and decision making based on their wants and needs. Very nicely written in simple terms. - Arun.
Buy the book: Chinchu gets a superpower for your child!
How to profit from content writing: Our new ebook for those interested in getting side income via content writing. It is available at a 50% discount for Rs. 500 only!
Did you know? We have more than 1000+ videos on YouTube to explore! Join our YouTube Community!

Join our courses in exclusive Facebook Groups!

  • 550+ members are now part of our new course: How to get people to pay for your skills! (watch 1st lecture for free). Learn how to get people to pay for your skills! Whether you are a professional or small business owner who wants more clients via online visibility or a salaried person wanting a side income or passive income, we will show how to achieve by showcasing your skills and building a community that trusts you and pays you!
  • Goal-based portfolio management! Join 2220+ members and get clarity on how to plan for your goals and achieve the necessary corpus no matter what the market condition is!! Watch the first lecture for free!  One-time payment of Rs. 3000 only. No recurring fees! Life-long access to videos (10+ hours content)  in an exclusive Facebook Group! Reduce fear, uncertainty and doubt while investing! Learn how to plan for your goals before and after retirement with confidence.

Want to check if the market is overvalued or undervalued? Use our market valuation tool (will work with any index!), or you buy the new Tactical Buy/Sell timing tool!
We publish mutual fund screeners and momentum, low volatility stock screeners .every month.
About the Author Pattabiraman editor freefincalM. Pattabiraman(PhD) is the founder, managing editor and primary author of freefincal. He is an associate professor at the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras. since Aug 2006. Connect with him via Twitter or Linkedin Pattabiraman has co-authored two print-books, You can be rich too with goal-based investing (CNBC TV18) and Gamechanger and seven other free e-books on various money management topics. He is a patron and co-founder of “Fee-only India,” an organisation to promote unbiased, commission-free investment advice. He conducts free money management sessions for corporates and associations based on money management. Previous engagements include World Bank, RBI, BHEL, Asian Paints, Cognizant, Madras Atomic Power Station, Honeywell, Tamil Nadu Investors Association, IIST Alumni Association. For speaking engagements, write to pattu [at] freefincal [dot] com
About freefincal & its content policy Freefincal is a News Media Organization dedicated to providing original analysis, reports, reviews and insights on developments in mutual funds, stocks, investing, retirement and personal finance. We do so without conflict of interest and bias. Follow us on Google News. Freefincal serves more than one million readers a year (2.5 million page views) with articles based only on factual information and detailed analysis by its authors. All statements made will be verified from credible and knowledgeable sources before publication. Freefincal does not publish any paid articles, promotions, PR, satire or opinions without data. All opinions presented will only be inferences backed by verifiable, reproducible evidence/data. Contact information: letters {at} freefincal {dot} com (sponsored posts or paid collaborations will not be entertained)
Connect with us on social media
Our publications

You Can Be Rich Too with Goal-Based Investing

You can be rich too with goal based investingPublished by CNBC TV18, this book is meant to help you ask the right questions, seek the correct answers, and since it comes with nine online calculators, you can also create custom solutions for your lifestyle! Get it now. It is also available in Kindle format.
Gamechanger: Forget Startups, Join Corporate & Still Live the Rich Life You Want Gamechanger: Forget Start-ups, Join Corporate and Still Live the Rich Life you wantThis book is meant for young earners to get their basics right from day one! It will also help you travel to exotic places at a low cost! Get it or gift it to a young earner.

Your Ultimate Guide to Travel

Travel-Training-Kit-Cover-new This is an in-depth dive analysis into vacation planning, finding cheap flights, budget accommodation, what to do when travelling, how travelling slowly is better financially and psychologically with links to the web pages and hand-holding at every step. Get the pdf for Rs 199 (instant download)
Free android apps