Nippon India Small Cap Fund Review: Consistent Performer!

This is a performance review of Nippon India Small Cap Fund. We look at how it has fared against small cap benchmarks and category peers

NAV of Nippon India Small cap fund since inception

Published: February 16, 2020 at 12:24 pm

Last Updated on

This is a performance review of Nippon India Small Cap Fund (formerly Reliance Small Cap Fund). We also consider for the comparison category peers like Axis Small cap fund, HDFC Small cap fund and SBI Small cap fund.

Reliance Small Cap Fund was launched in Sep 2010 with a mandate to invest 65%-100% of small cap companies.  I re-branded itself as a ‘proper’ small cap fund from April 2018 after the SEBI categorization rules without significant deviation in its mandate.

A month before, in March 2018, with its AUM having grown quickly to 6300+ crores, the fund stopped lump sum investments and allowed only SIPs. From October 2019, the SIP investment limit was hiked from Rs. one lakh to Rs five lakh. The ‘no lump sum’ restriction remains. Kudos to Nippon India Mutual Fund for an easy-to-navigate notices page.

Shown below is the asset allocation history of Nippon India Small cap fund clearly showing its small cap tilt even before the SEBI categorization rules.

Asset Allocation History for Nippon India Small cap Fund
Asset Allocation History for Nippon India Small cap Fund

This is the last three-year performance of the fund compared with two small cap benchmarks. Notice that although the fund peaked during the small cap rally when the fall began in early 2018, it was able to limit the fall and has also reacted well to the uptick over the last few months.

performance of Nippon India Small cap Fund over the last three years as on Feb 14 2020
performance of Nippon India Small cap Fund over the last three years as on Feb 14 2020

Next, we shall consider every possible five-year and seven-year return periods since the inception of the fund. We shall also include category peers reviewed earlier:

Join our 1300+ Facebook Group on Portfolio Management! Losing sleep over the markt crash? Don't! You can now reduce fear, doubt and uncertainty while investing for your financial goals! Sign up for our lectures on goal-based portfolio management and join our exclusive Facebook Community

Shown below are 1085 5-year data points in each coloured line covering an observation window (range of horizontal axis) of about four years.

Five year rolling returns of Nippon India Small Cap Fund with category peers and benchmarks
Five-year rolling returns of Nippon India Small Cap Fund with category peers and benchmarks

If we increase the duration, the number of data points drop significantly. We have only 598 seven-year data points. The observation window drops to less than three years.

Seven year rolling returns of Nippon India Small Cap Fund with category peers and benchmarks
Seven year rolling returns of Nippon India Small Cap Fund with category peers and benchmarks

In both durations, Nippon Small Cap has done fairly well (though second in place to SBI Small cap).

In summary, Nippon India has a good since-inception track record as a small cap fund and has been nimble enough (perhaps aided by restriction in inflow) to react to changes in the small cap space. It would perhaps serve the AMC and existing investors well if the restriction continue.

While I generally am against the need for a separate small cap fund, those looking for such an adventure and do not mind investing only via SIP can consider Nippon India Small Cap Fund.

 

Join our 1300+ Facebook Group on Portfolio Management! Do not lose sleep over your bleeding portfolio: Learn how to reduce fear, doubt and uncertainty while investing for financial goals! Sign up for our lectures on goal-based portfolio management and join our exclusive Facebook Community

Hate ads but would like to support the site? Subscribe to our ad-free newsletter and get beautifully formatted full articles delivered to your inbox!

About the Author

Pattabiraman editor freefincalM. Pattabiraman(PhD) is the founder, managing editor and primary author of freefincal. He is an associate professor at the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras. since Aug 2006. Connect with him via Twitter or Linkedin Pattabiraman has co-authored two print-books, You can be rich too with goal-based investing (CNBC TV18) and Gamechanger and seven other free e-books on various topics of money management. He is a patron and co-founder of “Fee-only India” an organisation to promote unbiased, commission-free investment advice.
He conducts free money management sessions for corporates and associations on the basis of money management. Previous engagements include World Bank, RBI, BHEL, Asian Paints, Cognizant, Madras Atomic Power Station, Honeywell, Tamil Nadu Investors Association. For speaking engagements write to pattu [at] freefincal [dot] com

About freefincal & its content policy

Freefincal is a News Media Organization dedicated to providing original analysis, reports, reviews and insights on developments in mutual funds, stocks, investing, retirement and personal finance. We do so without conflict of interest and bias. We operate in a non-profit manner. All revenue is used only for expenses and for the future growth of the site. Follow us on Google News
Freefincal serves more than one million readers a year (2.5 million page views) with articles based only on factual information and detailed analysis by its authors. All statements made will be verified from credible and knowledgeable sources before publication.Freefincal does not publish any kind of paid articles, promotions or PR, satire or opinions without data. All opinions presented will only be inferences backed by verifiable, reproducible evidence/data. Contact information: letters {at} freefincal {dot} com (sponsored posts or paid collaborations will not be entertained)

Connect with us on social media

Our Publications


You Can Be Rich Too with Goal-Based Investing

You can be rich too with goal based investingThis book is meant to help you ask the right questions, seek the right answers and since it comes with nine online calculators, you can also create custom solutions for your lifestyle! Get it now. It is also available in Kindle format.
  

Gamechanger: Forget Startups, Join Corporate & Still Live the Rich Life You Want

Gamechanger: Forget Start-ups, Join Corporate and Still Live the Rich Life you wantThis book is meant for young earners to get their basics right from day one! It will also help you travel to exotic places at low cost! Get it or gift it to a young earner

Your Ultimate Guide to Travel

Travel-Training-Kit-Cover-new

This is a deep dive analysis into vacation planning, finding cheap flights, budget accommodation, what to do when traveling, how traveling slowly is better financially and psychologically with links to the web pages and hand-holding at every step. Get the pdf for Rs 199 (instant download) 

Free Apps for your Android Phone

Comment Policy

Your thoughts are the driving force behind our work. We welcome criticism and differing opinions.Please do not include hyperlinks or email ids in the comment body. Such comments will be moderated and I reserve the right to delete the entire comment or remove the links before approving them.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *